Columbia Downtown Housing Corporation (CDHC)
The Columbia Downtown Housing Corporation (CDHC), serves as the Downtown Columbia Housing Foundation as per Title 28, Subtitle 2 of the Howard County Code.  CDHC is organized specifically to fulfill the vision of the Downtown Columbia Plan for a full spectrum and diverse mix of housing in Downtown Columbia, including affordable housing that will ensure low, moderate and middle- income families will have an opportunity to live in Downtown Columbia.

CDHC Committee Members

Patricia Sylvester, President              

Gregory Fitchitt, Ex-Officio

Jeryl Baker                                                                             

Jolly Burks

John DeZinno

Christopher J. Fritz

Bethany Hooper

Pastor Mary Ka Kanahan

Peter Morgan

Bruce Rothschild

Russell Snyder

Reverend Dr. Robert Turner

Annual Reports









2020 Meetings

2020 Meeting Schedule - Subject to change

January 15, 2020 - Annual Meeting - Agenda

     Nominating Committee Report

March 18, 2020 - Meeting Agenda (including Webex Information on page 2)

May 20, 2020 - Canceled due to COVID restrictions

June 17, 2020 - Agenda

August 19, 2020 - Agenda - Presentation - Please email for WebEx information if you would like to attend.

2019 Meetings

2018 Meetings

  • Agenda- December 19, 2018 - Board Meeting
  • November 14, 2018 - will be a Live Near Your Work Group Session
  • Agenda- September 12, 2018
  • Agenda - July 18, 2018
  • Agenda - May 16, 2018
  • April 18, 2018 - Live Near Your Work Session
  • Agenda - March 21, 2018 - Cancelled due to weather
  • February 21, 2018 - Live Near Your Work Group Session
  • January 17, 2018 Meeting
  • Agenda for the December 14, 2017 Meeting
New Cultural Center (NCC)

In consultation with its partners, CDHC is convening a small group of stakeholders to address issues related to the New Cultural Center (NCC). CDHC’s goal is to keep the project on schedule and for the group to work collaboratively to reach consensus so that the County Council will approve moving NCC funding from contingency in the Fall. The virtual workgroup meetings are open to the public.

Council approval of the release of funding for the NCC is the lynchpin for moving forward with the first Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) development included in the affordable residential development plan for Downtown Columbia enacted by HR-52-2016 et. al and the Developer Rights and Responsibilities Agreement (DRRA) executed in accordance with that legislation. The housing and non-residential components of the redevelopment of the Toby’s site have been inextricably linked since inception. Without funding for the NCC, the housing component, now known as Artists Flats, cannot proceed and the Howard County Housing Commission is at risk of losing substantial federal and state funds for this vitally needed affordable housing community.

NCC Committee Members

Pat Sylvester, CDHC

Jeryl Baker, CDHC

Deb Jung, County Council

David Yungman, County Council

Sameer Sidh, County Administration

Carl DeLorenzo, County Administration

Peter Engel, Howard County Housing Commission

Alastair Smith, Howard County Housing Commission

Bob DeSantis, Orchard Development

Greg Fitchitt, Howard Hughes Corporation

Paul Casey, Housing Affordability Coalition

Mary Kay Sigaty, Columbia Festival of the Arts

Representatives of Toby’s and CCTA, various county agencies, and Council members Walsh, Jones, & Mercer-Rigby will also participate in the workgroup

NCC Background Information

2020 Meetings