Commission on Aging

Working to maintain a senior-friendly Howard County.

THE COMMISSION'S MISSION: To promote successful aging for older adults in Howard County.

THE COMMISSION'S VISION: A county in which older adults age 50 and older can live safely, comfortably, securely, independently and productively.

ABOUT THE COMMISSION: The Howard County Commission on Aging is a 15-member volunteer advisory board to the Howard County Office on Aging and Independence. The Commission accomplishes its work through the activities of task forces and committees, researches legislation at the county and state level that impacts the health and wellbeing of older adults and their families, and provides testimony when appropriate. Commissioners are appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council for five-year terms. They represent diverse professional backgrounds, various age and ethnic groups, and many geographic areas of the county.

COMMISSION ON AGING MEMBERS (All correspondence may be directed to the following e-mail address by clicking on the following link:

Jennifer Asher
Reginald Avery
Angela Boyter
Peter Brunner
Deborah Jean Fleischmann
Susan Hailman
Julia Mattis
Robert McLaughlin
Michael McPherson
Eletta Morse
Sue Song
Mark Stinson
Sharonlee Vogel (Chair)
Michael Willis

Commission meetings are held the fourth Monday of each month at 7 p.m. at the DCRS Offices at 9830 Patuxent Woods Drive. For additional information about the Commission, please e-mail the Commission at or Donna Tugwell, Howard County Office on Aging and Independence at

Meeting time and place is subject to change; please call 410-313-6410 to verify. All meetings of Howard County boards and commissions are open to the public, except under those circumstances in which a closed meeting is permitted by law. NOTE: If you need accommodations to participate in these meetings, please call Donna Tugwell 410-313-5949 (voice/relay) at least seven days in advance.

COA Agendas

Upcoming Agendas

Please Note -The next Commission meeting is September 23, 2019 and will be held at the George Howard Building





Commission on Aging Minutes
2019 2018 2017  2016  2015  2014  2013 
January  January (no meeting)  January  January (no meeting)       January (no meeting)  January  January 
February  February  February  February  February  February (no meeting)       February
March  March  March  March  March  March  March
April  April  April (no meeting)  April  April  April  April
May  May  May  May  May  May (no meeting)  May
 June(no quorum)  June  June  June  June  June  June
 July  July (no meeting)  July  July  July  July  July
   August (no meeting)       August (no meeting)  August  August  August  August
   September  September  September (no meeting)  September  September  September
   October  October  October  October  October  October
   November  November  November  November  November  November
   December (no meeting)   December (no meeting)       December (no meeting)       December (no meeting)       December (no meeting)   December (no meeting)