The Howard County Local Children's Board comprises public and private members working collaboratively to ensure a strong continuum of services for families and children in our community. Also known as the Local Management Board, there is a functioning board in all 24 jurisdictions in Maryland. We work in partnership with the Governor's Office for Children to ensure children grow up healthy, secure and successful.

Recently, The Board identified priorities and designed strategies to help ensure Howard County is a place where all children can  thrive. The Strategic Priorities for FY2021 – FY2025 are as follows:

  • Affordable and Quality Education and Training
  • Increase Inclusiveness, Awareness and Coordination of Resources to Meet the Needs of Each Community
  • Access to Affordable and Quality Behavioral Health Care
Board Information
Board Meeting Schedule

All meetings held at 9:00 – 11:00 a.m.

Location:  Virtually and Potentially In-Person after September

 LCB full Board meeting on Tuesday, March 15, 2022 from 9 – 11:00 am. 



Tuesday, January 18, 2022 

Tuesday, March 15, 2022

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Tuesday, June 21, 2022 (Annual Meeting) 


Board Members
  • Rich Gibson, Office of State's Attorney
  • Stephen Liggett-Creel, Howard County DSS
  • Raul Delerme, Howard County Department of Recreation and Parks
  • Erica Byrne, Voices for Children, Community Representative
  • Kelly Cimino, Howard County Department of Housing
  • Dawn Duignan, ChairHope Counseling Center, Community Representative
  • Mike Mitchell, Luminus, Community Representative
  • Chief Gregory Der, Howard County Police Department
  • Tim Madden, Howard County Department of Juvenile Services
  • Tonya Aikens, Howard County Library
  • Dr. Michael Martirano, Howard County Public School System 
  • Sharon Afework, Office Of Child Care
  • Melissa Rosenberg, Autism Society, Community Representative
  • Dr. Maura Rossman, Howard County Department of Health
  • Jackie Scott, Howard County Department of Community Resources and Services 
  • Francine Trout, Vice Chair, Office of Workforce Development
  • Regina Clay, Community Representative
  • Elise Choe, Student Member
  • Cristina Oviedo, Community Member
  • Dr. Wendall McKay, Community Representative
Meeting Agendas & Minutes

September 2022

June 2022

May 2022

March 2022

January 2022








Stay Connected!

Sign up for the County Executive's weekly newsletter and stay up to date on everything Howard County.

Zip Code