General Information

Howard County Recreation & Parks 
7120 Oakland Mills Road 
Columbia, MD 21046 


410-313-4700 General Information
(M-F, 8am-5pm) 

410-313-4658 FAX 

410-313-PARK (7275) Registration
(M-F, 8am-4:30pm) 

rap@howardcountymd.gov 
registration@howardcountymd.gov

Rec and parks hq

Inclement Weather and Program Status Lines

Title

Inclement Weather and Program Status Lines

Content

We strive to operate our programs regardless of weather - canceling is a last resort. However:  

  • While most programs will be held despite the weather, schedules and drop-off points may change.
  • Should lightning be a factor, outdoor activities may be moved indoors.
  • If a snow emergency is declared in Howard County, programs may be closed early or canceled.
  • If a snow emergency is declared in Howard County, all parks are closed.
  • If schools are closed, delayed or dismissed early due to inclement weather or if the Board of Education suspends after-school activities, Recreation and Parks programs in schools may be affected.
  • In the event of inclement weather, call the Inclement Weather/Program Status numbers below for up-to-date information.
  • You should check with your instructor about make-up dates for canceled sessions.
  • Review the extreme heat policy, which provides guidelines for staff and facilities when the National Weather Service announces a Heat Advisory or a Heat Warning. 
Inclement Weather/Program Status Information
(Call after 4pm Mon-Fri and after 7am Sat & Sun for recorded message)

Classes, Program, Events, Trips, Childcare, Therapeutic Recreation, 
Some Sports and Outdoor Recreation: 410-313-4451

Gary J. Arthur Community Center: 410-313-4452 (option 1)

Meadowbrook Athletic Complex: 410-313-4452 (option 2)

Roger Carter Community Center: 410-313-2764 (option 3)

Kiwanis-Wallas Hall410-313-4452 (option 4)

North Laurel Community Center: 410-313-4452 (option 5)

Robinson Nature Center: 410-313-4452 (option 6)

Ball Field Conditions

All School Fields: 410-313-6827 (This line is maintained by HCPSS: https://www.hcpss.org/schools/facilities/)

Alpha Ridge Park and Western Regional Park: 410-313-4372

Blandair Park: 410-313-3673

Cedar Lane Park: 410-313-4453

Centennial Park and Cypressmede Park: 410-313-4454

Hollifield Park and the Howard County Center for the Arts: 410-313-4457

Dayton Oaks Park and Schooley Mill Park: 410-313-4458

Dickinson Park, Hammond Park, Huntington Park and Martin Road Park: 410-313-4459

Meadowbrook Park: 410-313-2727

Rockburn Branch Park, Waterloo Park, and Worthington Dog Park: 410-313-4455

Savage Park, Guilford Park, East Columbia Library Park: 410-313-4456

Staff Directory

Title

Administration

Content

Nicholas Mooneyhan, Director
410-313-4640
nmooneyhan@howardcountymd.gov

Nicola Morgal, Bureau Chief, Bureau of Recreation 
410-313-4661 
nmorgal@howardcountymd.gov

Bryan Moody, Bureau Chief, Bureau of Parks 
410-313-4640 
bmoody@howardcountymd.gov

Robert A. Linz, Bureau Chief, Bureau of Capital Projects 
410-313-4640
blinz@howardcountymd.gov

Mike Milani, Bureau Chief, Bureau of Administrative Services
410-313-4629 
mmilani@howardcountymd.gov  

Title

Active Aging Programs and Trips & Tours

Content

Dawn Thomas, Superintendent
410-313-1754 
dthomas@howardcountymd.go

Tessa Hurd
Recreation Manager
Active Aging Programs and Trips & Tours
410-313-7311
thurd@howardcountymd.gov

Tracy Adkins, Supervisor
Active Aging Programs and Trips & Tours
410-313-7279
TAdkins@howardcountymd.gov

Scott Ripley, Supervisor
Active Aging Programs - Sports & Fitness
410-313-7281
SRipley@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Adult Programs (18 years +)

Content

Dawn Thomas, Superintendent
410-313-1754 
dthomas@howardcountymd.go

Melissa Byrne
410-313-4704
mbyrne@howardcountymd.go

Title

Adventure and Outdoor Programs, Camps & Events

Content

Matt Medicus, Manager
410-313-1769  
mmedicus@howardcountymd.gov

Kristen Coffee, Supervisor 
410-313-1754  
kcoffee@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Capital Projects, Park Planning and Construction

Content

Robert A. Linz, Bureau Chief
410-313-4640
blinz@howardcountymd.gov

Jeff Hull, Superintendent
Construction  410-313-4631 
jhull@howardcountymd.gov   

Brenda Mercado, Senior Administrative Analyst
410-313-4685
bmercado@howardcountymd.gov

Paul Walsky, RLA, Park Planner 
410-313-1695 
pwalsky@howardcountymd.gov

Jason Thompson, PLA, Park Planner
410-313-4031
jthompson@howardcountymd.gov

Ed Bromley, Engineering Support Technician 2 
410-313-4688 
ebromley@howardcountymd.gov  

Dawn Poholsky, 
Geographical Information Systems Specialist (GIS), 
Global Positioning System (GPS), Department Data Manager
410-313-1677 
dpoholsky@howardcountymd.gov

Tim Nedzel, Operations Supervisor III, 
Heritage Construction  410- 313-0211 
tnedzel@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Community Outreach

Content

Daneisha Nicholas, Manager
410-313-4625 
dnicholas@howardcountymd.gov

Nateia Templeton, Supervisor
410-313-4674
ntempleton@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Early Childhood and Youth Programs

Content

Dawn Thomas, Superintendent
410-313-1754 
dthomas@howardcountymd.gov

Adam Wienckowski, Manager
PreK & Youth: Cooking, Dance classes, Drama classes, Magic & Circus, 
410-313-4714 
awienckowski@howardcountymd.gov

Cindy Ochs, Supervisor
Early Childhood & Preschool classes & camps, Art classes, Parent-Child programs
410-313-4681 
cochs@howardcountymd.gov

Patrick Huges, Supervisor
Youth: Art classes, Chess, Culture, Etiquette, LEGO®, Medical/Veterinary classes
410-313-4622
phughes@howardcountymd.gov 

Carson Nickell, Supervisor
PreK & Youth:  Dance Camps, LEGO®, Music classes, Science/Technology classes
410-313-4721
cjnickell@howardcountymd.gov

 

Title

Facilities

Content

Athletic, Community, & Nature Centers

Gary J Arthur Community Center

Rachel Hall, Facility Manager
410-313-4844
rmhall@howardcountymd.gov

Jeremy Fowler, Assistant Facility Manager
410-313-4845
jfowler@howardcountymd.gov

Justin Rutledge, Facility Coordinator
410-313-4835
jmrutledge@howardcountymd.gov

Susan Harry, Administrative Support Technician 
410-313-4841
sharry@howardcountymd.gov

Meadowbrook Athletic Complex

Matt Knoerlein
410-313-1163
mknoerlein@howardcountymd.gov

Matt Decker
410-313-1162
madecker@howardcountymd.gov

North Laurel Community Center

Anthony Lyon, Facility Manager
410-313-0456
alyon@howardcountymd.gov

Adam Sterner, Assistant Facility Manager
410-313-0457
asterner@howardcountymd.gov

Sherdina Talleywood, Facility Coordinator
410-313-0458
stalleywood@howardcountymd.gov

Roger Carter Community Center

Julija Sajauskas, Facility Manager
410-313-2722
jsajauskas@howardcountymd.gov

Justin Smith, Assistant Facility Manager
410-313-2752
jcsmith@howardcountymd.gov

Robinson Nature Center

Shannon Davis, Manager, Robinson Nature Center
410-313-0404

Ellen Saleiro, Program Manager, Robinson Nature Center
410-313-0407 
esaleiro@howardcountymd.gov

Brian Campbell, Conservation, Maintenance and Sustainability Manager, Robinson Nature Center
410-313-0406
bcampbell@howardcountymd.gov

Emily Sizemore, Facility and Guest Services Manager, Robinson Nature Center 
410-313-0410
esizemore@howardcountymd.gov

Sammy Baker, Environmental Education and Technology Manager, Robinson Nature Center
410-313-0507
sbaker@howardcountymd.gov

Jessee Standbridge, Administrative Aide, Robinson Nature Center
410-313-0400
jstandbridge@howardcountymd.gov

Schooley Mill Activity & Conference Rooms
Info: 410-313-4682

Kiwanis-Wallas Hall
Info: 410-313-2636
Reservations: 410-313-2637

Historic Sites

Tiffany Fisk, Historic and Cultural Resources Section Manager
410-313-0420
tfisk@howardcountymd.gov

Baltimore & Ohio Ellicott City Station Museum
Info: 410-313-1945

Stephanie Kennedy-La Rosa, Ellicott City Historic Sites Manager
410-313-0422
skennedylarosa@howardcountymd.gov

Belmont Manor & Historic Park
Info: 410-313-0200

Ellicott City Colored School, Restored
Stephanie Kennedy-La Rosa, Ellicott City Historic Sites Manager
410-313-0422
skennedylarosa@howardcountymd.gov

Firehouse Museum
Info: 410-313-0420Stephanie Kennedy-La Rosa, Ellicott City Historic Sites Manager
410-313-0422
skennedylarosa@howardcountymd.gov

Patapsco Female Institute Historic Park

Stephanie Kennedy-La Rosa, Ellicott City Historic Sites Manager
410-313-0422
skennedylarosa@howardcountymd.gov

Pfeiffer's Corner Schoolhouse
Info: 410-313-4682

Thomas Isaac Log Cabin
Stephanie Kennedy-La Rosa, Ellicott City Historic Sites Manager
410-313-0422
skennedylarosa@howardcountymd.gov

Waverly Mansion
Info: 410-313-0200

Title

Historic and Cultural Resources

Content

Tiffany Fisk, Historic and Cultural Resources Section Manager
410-313-0420
tfisk@howardcountymd.gov

Stephanie Kennedy-La Rosa, Ellicott City Historic Sites Manager
410-313-0422
skennedylarosa@howardcountymd.gov

Kelly Palich, Heritage Program Coordinator
410-313-0423
kpalich@howardcountymd.gov 

Nathan Davis, B&O Ellicott City Station Museum Manager
410-313-2922
nadavis@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Horticulture and Land Management

Content

Tim Overstreet, Division Supervisor 
410-313-4627 
toverstreet@howardcountymd.gov

Joann Frush, Operations Supervisor 
410-313-4733 
jfrush@howardcountymd.gov

Chris Tolson, Contract Management 
410-313-4732  
ctolson@howardcountymd.gov

Ken Miller, Operations Supervisor 
410-313-1684 
kemiller@howardcountymd.gov 

Title

Marketing & Public Information

Content

Anna Hunter, Superintendent of Public Information & Marketing
410-313-4686 
ahunter@howardcountymd.gov

Cara Marshall, Art Director 
410-313-4422 
cmarshall@howardcountymd.gov​

Kathy Wyche, Graphic Designer
410-313-4421
kwyche@howardcountymd.gov 

Ryan Hennesy, Graphic Designer
410-313-4663
rhennesy@howardcountymd.gov

Steven Bloom, Graphic Designer
410-313-4425
sbloom@howardcountymd.gov 

Pete McCarthy, Marketing Editor & Social Media Coordinator
410-313-1685
pmccarthy@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Natural & Historic Resources and Open Space

Content

Dan McNamara, Superintendent 
410-313-4725 
dmcnamara@howardcountymd.gov

Tim Maynard, Deer Management Manager 
410-313-1675 
tmaynard@howardcountymd.gov

Cheryl Farfaras, Middle Patuxent Environmental Area (MPEA) Manager 
410-313-4726 
cfarfaras@howardcountymd.gov

Jeff Claffy, Middle Patuxent Environmental Area (MPEA) Assistant Manager, 
MPEA Volunteer Programs 
410-313-6209 
jclaffy@howardcountymd.gov

Brenda Lee, Natural Resource Conservation Manager
410-313-4724
brlee@howardcountymd.gov

David Keane, Forestry and Natural Resource Protection Manager
410-313-1676 
dkeane@howardcountymd.gov

Scott Bowen, Forest Conservation Manager
410-313-3723 
sbowen@howardcountymd.gov

Meagan Poe, Trail Program Manager
410-313-4697
mpoe@howardcountymd.gov 

Megan Handshu Mills, Private Forest Conservation Establishment, 
Stream Releaf and Plant (It) Green Programs 
410-313-6205 
mlhmills@howardcountymd.gov

Charlie Peregoy, Regulations Inspector I 
and Dedications 
410-313-1678 
cperegoy@howardcountymd.gov

Sean Poholsky, Regulations Inspector I 
and Dedications 
410-313-0701
sppoholsky@howardcountymd.gov

Kevin Vest, Park Ranger Manager
410-313-4679
ksvest@howardcountymd.gov

Erin Wilder, Park Ranger Supervisor
410-313-4666 
ewilder@howardcountymd.gov

Alvin Stewart, Park Ranger Supervisor
410-313-0589
astewart@howardcountymd.gov

Lia Gafford, Park Ranger Supervisor
410-313-1674
agafford@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Park Operations

Content

Park Information
410-313-4700

Nick Brightwell, Superintendent
410-313-0415
nbrightwell@howardcountymd.gov

Pat Wiebking, Operations Supervisor III, Zone 4, including Rockburn Branch Park
410-313-5132 
pwiebking@howardcountymd.gov 

Donna Szyman, Park Operations Assistant 
410-313-4647 
dszyman@howardcountymd.gov   

John Riggleman, Operations Supervisor III, Zone 1, including Cedar Lane Park
410-313-7398 
jriggleman@howardcountymd.gov   

Bill Lloyd, Operations Supervisor I, Zone 1, including Cedar Lane Park 
410-313-7285 
blloyd@howardcountymd.gov 

Joe Burkett, Operations Supervisor 1, Zone 1, including Savage Park 
410-313-7364
jburkett@howardcountymd.gov 

Kevin Naecker, Operations Supervisor III, Zone 2, including Centennial Park
410-313-0418 
knaecker@howardcountymd.gov  

James Reed, Operations Supervisor I, Zone 2, including Centennial Park
410-313-7271 
jmreed@howardcountymd.gov

Rick Femiano, Operations Supervisor III, Zone 3, including Schooley Mill Park
410-313-6133 
rfemiano@howardcountymd.gov  

William Sullivan, Operations Supervisor I, Zone 3, including Schooley Mill Park
410-313-6132 
wsullivan@howardcountymd.gov 

Darrell Reid, Operations Supervisor I, Zone 4, including Rockburn Branch Park
410-313-3875 
dreid@howardcountymd.gov

Mark Fisher, Operations Supervisor I, Zone 4, including Troy Park
410-313-5130 
mfisher@howardcountymd.gov  

David Benedictis, Operations Supervisor III, Zone 5, including Blandair Park/Belmont Manor and Historic Park
410-313-0204
dbenedictis@howardcountymd.gov

Kyle Gordon, Operations Supervisor I, Zone 5, including Blandair Park
410-313-0348
kgordon@howardcountymd.gov

Miles Thome, Operations Supervisor I, Zone 5, including Belmont Manor and Historic Park
410-313-0212
mthome@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Pavilion & Field Reservations

Content

Eddie O'Malley
Pavilion Rentals and Photography Permission & Necessary Forms
410-313-4676
eomalley@howardcountymd.gov

Jean Shea
Field Permits 
410-313-4626 
jshea@howardcountymd.gov 

Anna Hunter
Filming/Videography Permission & Necessary Forms
Superintendent of Marketing & Public Information
410-313-4686 
ahunter@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Recreational Licensed Child Care and Community Services

Content

To reach the RLC Administrative office, please call 410-313-3706.

Ruth Coleman, Superintendent
410-313-4723
RuColeman@howardcountymd.gov 

Stephanie Wise, Recreation Manager
410-313-4712
swise@howardcountymd.gov 

Joynel K. Young, Recreation Manager
410-313-2637
jkyoung@howardcountymd.gov 

Bushy Park, Dayton Oaks, Fulton, Hollifield Station, Lisbon, Manor Woods, Pointers Run, St. John’s Lane, Triadelphia Ridge, Veterans, Waverly and West Friendship RLC
Shavon Gordon, Supervisor

410-313-4633
sgordon@howardcountymd.gov 

Bellows Spring, Bollman Bridge, Deep Run, Ducketts Lane, Elkridge, Forest Ridge, Gorman Crossing, Hanover Hills, Ilchester, Laurel Woods, Rockburn and Early Learning Centers
Josh Anest, Recreation Supervisor 
410-313-4636 

janest@howardcounnt,md.gov  

Donna Jackson-Parker, Coordinator
410-313-1696
djparker@howardcountymd.gov 


Anthony Kerere, Recreation Coordinator 
410-313-1127 
akerere@howardcountymd.gov 

Jack Ostermeyer, Recreation Coordinator 
410-313-1687 
jostermeyer@howardcountymd.gov 

 

Title

Registration

Content

General Registration (Program information, Refund/Withdrawal Requests) 
410-313-7275

Christine Walton, Supervisor 
410-313-7275 
registration@howardcountymd.gov  

Title

Special Events

Content

Danielle Bassett, Manager 
410-313-4634
dbassett@howardcountymd.gov 

Karen Bradley Ehler, Supervisor
410-313-4635
KEhler@howardcountymd.gov

Wine in the Woods
Mike Blevins, Superintendent 
410-313-1668 
mblevins@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Sponsorships and Memorials

Content

Memorials:

Donna Szyman
410-313-4647
dszyman@howardcountymd.gov

Sponsorships:

Anna Hunter
410-313-4686
ahunter@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Sports & Tournaments

Content

Sports

Mike Blevins, Superintendent 
410-313-1668 
mblevins@howardcountymd.gov

Krista Billingsley, Sports Manager
Fitness, Adult Football, Running
410-313-4703  
kbillingsley@howardcountymd.gov

Mickayla Keith, Sports Supervisor
Adult Basketball, Adult Soccer, Summer Camps, Rugby, Squash
410-313-4716
mkeith@howardcountymd.gov 

Devon Standard, Sports Supervisor
Golf, Pickleball, Summer Camps, Tennis
410-313-4637
dstandard@howardcountymd.gov

Adam Zuckerman, Sports Supervisor
Cricket, Flag Football, Martial Arts, Summer Camps
410-313-4720
azuckerman@howardcountymd.gov 

Matthew Knoerlein, Manager (Meadowbrook Athletic Complex)
Youth Basketball League (9-14 yrs), High School Basketball League
410-313-1163
mknoerlein@howardcountymd.gov

Matthew Decker, Assistant Manager (Meadowbrook Athletic Complex), Sports Supervisor
Summer Camps, Volleyball, Youth Basketball (5-8 yrs)
410-313-1162
madecker@howardcountymd.gov

Amy Patton, Sports Manager
Adult Softball, Kids Fest, Wrestling
410-313-4718
apatton@howardcountymd.gov

Will Dunmore, Sports Supervisor
Badminton, Gymnastics, Indoor Running, Jump Rope, Summer Camps, Youth Football
410-313-1697  
wdunmore@howardcountymd.gov

Curtis Gore, Sports Supervisor
After-School Sports, Instructional Sports Leagues, Preschool Sports, Super Hoops, Summer Camps
410-313-4705  
cgore@howardcountymd.gov

Adam Workman, Sports Supervisor
Youth Soccer, Overtime Sports, Summer Camps
410-313-4736
aworkman@howardcountymd.gov

Ricky Dubois, Sports Manager
Alliance, Club and Community Sports
410-313-4706  
rdubois@howardcountymd.gov  

Kelly Jones, Sports Supervisor
Field Hockey, Lacrosse, Summer Camps
410-313-1694
kejones@howardcountymd.gov 

Ray Hall, Sports Supervisor
Alliance Basketball League, WHC Warhawks Football and Cheer, Summer Camps, Youth Lacrosse (GHCLC Girls, HCLP, Hero's) 
410-313-1689  
arhall@howardcountymd.gov   

Tyler Moore, Sports Supervisor
Columbia Baseball/Softball, Summer Camps, EHC Jaguars Football and Cheer
410-313-4715
tymoore@howardcountymd.gov   

Tournaments

Jamie Ponton, Tournaments/Events Manager
410-313-1691
jponton@howardcountymd.gov

Julian Henson, Tournaments/Events Supervisor
410-313-1665
jhenson@howardcountymd.gov

Title

Therapeutic Recreation/Inclusion

Content

Susan L. Potts, MS, CTRS, Therapeutic Recreation and Accommodation Services Manager 
spotts@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4628 

Nicholas Owens – Inclusion & Accommodation Services Supervisor
nowens@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-1671

Emily Pendleton – Inclusion & Accommodation Services Supervisor
ependleton@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4623

Ciara Scafide – Inclusion & Accommodation Services Supervisor
cscafide@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4708

Title

Volunteers and Special Projects

Content

Shawnté Berry, Volunteer & Special Projects Manager 
410-313-4624 
sberry@howardcountymd.gov

 

Title

Film or Photograph in a Park or Rec & Pk Facility

Content

Anna Hunter
Filming/Videography Permission & Necessary Forms
Superintendent of Marketing & Public Information
410-313-4686 
ahunter@howardcountymd.gov

Eddie O'Malley
Photography Permission & Necessary Forms
410-313-4676
eomalley@howardcountymd.gov

 

Stay Connected!

Sign up for the County Executive's weekly newsletter and stay up to date on everything Howard County.
 

Zip Code