OFFICE OF TRANSPORTATION 

Mission Statement

The Office of Transportation’s primary focus is to increase the efficiency and effectiveness 

of public transportation services, walking, and bicycling  in and around Howard County and 

ensure that connectivity is front and center in land use planning and site development. 

The Office oversees the following programs:

Patuxent Branch Trail Connection

 

The Department of Recreation and Parks is constructing a trail connection adjacent to Old Guilford Road between the Guilford Pratt Truss Bridge and the Patuxent Branch Trail to Lake Elkhorn. This project will increase safety for people walking, jogging, and bicycling along Old Guilford Road, and contribute to the goal of a connected pathway between Columbia and Savage.

For more information, click here.

   
 

US 1 Safety Evaluation

The evaluation identified four focus areas for detailed study and developed recommendations for each focus area, preliminary concepts for safety improvements at five locations, and corridor-wide recommendations. The report also identifies potential funding sources.

To read the report or submit comments, please visit www.howardcountymd.gov/US1Safety

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

Upcoming Meetings:

Paratransit Work Group Meeting: November 14 at 2:00 p.m in the Columbia/Ellicott Room.  George Howard Building 3430 Courthouse Drive, Ellicott City MD 21043. Click here for the agenda.

Howard County Multimodal Transportation Board: November 27, at 6 p.m. in the Columbia/Ellicott Room. George Howard Building 3430 Courthouse Drive, Ellicott City MD 21043. Staff from the Regional Transit Agency (RTA) and Howard County's Office of Transportation (OOT) will present information regarding service changes for the 2018 Transit Development Plan

 Transit Development Plan Public Hearing:  December 13, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. at the Regional Transportation Administration Building 8510 Corridor Road, Suite 110, Savage Maryland.  This location is served by Route 409. Additional information can be found here.

Bicycle Advisory Group: January 15, 2018, 3:00 p.m. in the Columbia/Ellicott Room at the George Howard Building, 3430 Court House Drive, Ellicott City, MD 21043

Social Media Hub

Staff Contacts

Clive Graham
Administrator

410.313.0702
cgraham@howardcountymd.gov
  Chris Eatough
Bicycle & Pedestrian Coordinator 

410.313.0567
ceatough@howardcountymd.gov
  David Cookson
Planning Manager

410.313.3842
dcookson@howardcountymd.gov
         
Jai Saunders
Administrative Analyst 

410.313.0539
jasaunders@howardcountymd.gov
  Rashidi Jackson
Transportation Planner 

410.313.4361
rjackson@howardcountymd.gov
  Allison Calkins
TDM Specialist

410.313.4311
acalkins@howardcountymd.gov
 
       
Jason Quan
Transit Planning Manager 
410.313.3442
jquqn@howardcountymd.gov
Albert Guiney Engel
Bicycle and Pedestrian Planner

410.313.4360
aengel@howardcountymd.gov
  Brian Muldoon
Transportation Planner 

410.313.4363
bmuldoon@howardcountymd.gov

 


 

Transportation Data

Interested in data on transportation in Howard County?

Visit the transportation section of the County's open data portal.