Mission Statement

The Office of Transportation’s primary focus is to increase the efficiency and effectiveness  of public transportation services, walking, and bicycling  in and around Howard County and  ensure that connectivity is front and center in land use planning and site development. 

News and Updates

Attention RTA Riders

Routes 301, 404, 408, 409, and 502: Minor timetable adjustments have been made and are effective Sunday, August 11th.  Current schedules can be found here

Routes 201 and 504 are now operated by Anne Arundel County. For new stop locations and timetable schedules, call 410-222-7440 or visit the Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation's website.


Upcoming Meetings

George Howard Building 3430 Courthouse Drive
Columbia Ellicott Room
Ellicott City
21043

Aug 27

Multimodal Transportation Board

Event Start Date: 8/27/2019 7:00 PM

This is a monthly meeting of the Multimodal Transportation Board.

George Howard Building, Columbia/Ellicott City Room, 3430 Courthouse Drive, Ellicott City, Maryland 21043.

Event Locations
George Howard Building
George Howard Building - Banneker Room 3430 Courthouse Drive
Columbia Ellicott Room
Ellicott City
21043

Sept 17

Bicycle Advisory Group

Event Start Date: 9/17/2019 2:00 PM

This is a quarterly meeting of the Bicycle Advisory Group.

Event Locations
George Howard Building - Banneker Room
George Howard Building - Banneker Room > Columbia/Ellicott Room
George Howard Building - Banneker Room 3430 Courthouse Drive
Columbia Ellicott Room
Ellicott City
21043

Sept 17

Joint Meeting of the Bicycle Advisory Group and Transit and Pedestrian Advisory Group

Event Start Date: 9/17/2019 3:00 PM

This is a biannual joint meeting of the Bicycle Advisory Group and the Transit and Pedestrian Advisory Group.

Event Locations
George Howard Building - Banneker Room
George Howard Building - Banneker Room > Columbia/Ellicott Room
George Howard Building - Banneker Room 3430 Courthouse Drive
Columbia Ellicott Room
Ellicott City
21043

Sept 17

Transit and Pedestrian Advisory Group

Event Start Date: 9/17/2019 4:00 PM

This is a quarterly meeting of the Transit and Pedestrian Advisory Group.

Event Locations
George Howard Building - Banneker Room
George Howard Building - Banneker Room > Columbia/Ellicott Room

Staff Contacts

Bruce Gartner
Administrator
410.313.0702
bgartner@howardcountymd.gov
 

David Cookson
Planning Manager
410.313.3842
dcookson@howardcountymd.gov

 

Chris Eatough
Bicycle & Pedestrian Coordinator
410.313.0567
ceatough@howardcountymd.gov

         
Jai Saunders
Administrative Analyst 
410.313.0539
jasaunders@howardcountymd.gov
  Brian Muldoon
Transportation Planner 
410.313.4363
bmuldoon@howardcountymd.gov
  Jason Quan
Transit Planning Manager
410.313.3442
jquan@howardcountymd.gov
           
Allison Calkins
TDM Specialist
410.313.4311
acalkins@howardcountymd.gov
  Albert Guiney Engel
Bicycle and Pedestrian Planner
410.313.4360
aengel@howardcountymd.gov
 

Rashidi Jackson
GIS Specialist
410.313.4361
rajackson@howardcountymd.gov

   

 

   

Vacant
Administrative Support Technician
410.313.3054
 

       
         
         

Transportation Data

Interested in data on transportation in Howard County?

Visit the transportation section of the County's open data portal.