Frequently Asked Questions and Guidance for Child Care Providers during COVID-19

Inclement Weather Information:

The Department of Community Resources and Services (DCRS) facilities, including 50+ Centers, the Loan Closet, Patuxent Woods offices, and the Multiservice Center, will make all reasonable attempts to open on time in the event of inclement weather. Please call the DCRS Inclement Weather Line at 410-313-7777(voice/relay) to learn of any delayed openings or closings. 

Additional Inclement Weather updates can be found at:    Please Click Here to View the Inclement Weather Policy


Howard County Child Care Resource Center


9830 Patuxent Woods Drive, Columbia, MD 21046

The Resource Center is open 8:00 a.m. - 4:45 p.m.

Monday - Friday with a few exceptions.

The Resource Center follows the Howard County Government holiday observance schedule.

Please call for Evening and Weekend Hours 

410-313-1940 (Voice/Relay)


The Howard County Child Care Resource Center is a member of the Maryland Child Care Resource Network with funding provided from the Maryland State Department of Education, through Maryland Family Network, and Howard County Government. As a member of the Maryland Child Care Resource Network, the Howard County Child Care Resource Center assists parents, child care professionals and the community in the following ways:

  • Assists parents in locating licensed child care
  • Provides technical assistance (information and expert advice) and resources for current and prospective child care providers in family child care homes and child care centers
  • Collects data that documents the child care needs of families and employers as well as the child care delivery system.

  • Provides training for child care professionals and parents to expand their knowledge of early childhood and best child care practices.
Please click here for the WebEx User Guide.


 What's In Their Backpack: The Impact of Trauma

Mon., Aug. 3 / 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM / $30

J. Johnson / 3 CD

This engaging workshop discusses the effects and impact that trauma can have on the brain. It not only affects children in the moment, but throughout life if gone untreated. By understanding the effects of trauma on the brain, we can gain insight into children’s behavior.

The Benefits of Play

Tues., Aug. 4 / 6:30 PM - 8:30 PM / $20

K. Reel / 2 CD

We know that children learn through play. In this workshop, participants will enhance their knowledge of the purpose of play by looking at the latest research. If you want to learn more or rediscover the purpose behind the learning activities we plan for the children, come and join us.


Including All Children and the ADA

Tues., Aug. 11 / 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM / $30

K. Reel / 3 SN

Including all children in your child care program can be challenging if you don't understand what you are required to do. Explore the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) for early care programs, examine best inclusionary practices and learn about resources which can support you and your families.


Managing Stress at Any Age

Thurs., Aug. 13 / 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM / $30

K. Reel / 2 HSN 1 PRO

This training is designed to increase participants’ knowledge of stress and how to manage its symptoms. This training introduces participants to “good” and “bad” stress as well as other types of stress such as acute stress and post traumatic stress disorder, and participants will learn initial signs and symptoms of each type of stress. The participants will also be able to examine the similarities and differences of stress in infants, toddlers, preschool children, school-aged children, adolescents and adults.  


Basic Health & Safety Training

Wed., Aug. 19 / 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM / $30

D. Tobin / 3 HSN

This training provides information about health and safety topics for all child care providers to meet the requirement of the licensing regulation. Key topics include: establishing and maintaining safe and healthy environments, teaching safe practices to prevent and reduce injuries, identification and reporting of abuse or neglect and proper sanitation practices and procedures. Completion of this training does not meet requirements for specified training in Medication Administration, Emergency and Disaster Preparedness, CPR or First Aid.


Budgets, Projections, and Planning for Family Child Care

Thur., Aug. 20 / 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM / $30

J. Johnson / 3 PRO

Come and learn the value of developing a budget and how to use it for decision-making throughout the year. We will look at ways to plan strategically by understanding how to project business costs and generate additional income .


Center Aide Orientation

Mon., Aug. 24 / 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM / $30

D. Tobin / 3 PRO

This workshop satisfies the regulatory requirement for child care center aides. Participants will review professionalism, the basic of supervisions, and interacting with families.


Make Time Happen: Time Management Tips

Wed., Aug. 26 / 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM / $30

K.Reel / 3 PRO

This course is designed to teach child care providers how to make the most effective use of the time and how to help handle the time that they cannot control. Topics include how to manage time appropriately through work, rest and play.


In-Person (Classroom) Training

Don't have an account yet? You can still view the upcoming workshops by clicking the Register for In-Person Training button. Create your new account for easy online registration at your convenience day or night!

Training workshops are held at 9830 Patuxent Woods Drive, Columbia, MD 21046.

MSDE Child Care Training Approval Number: CKO-30733; PSO-3569, CTO-7406, expires 06/30/2022

E-Learning (Online) Training




Looking for child care training online? Courses are available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year!

Our e-learning training courses are designed to help early childhood professionals complete annual training requirements and acquire required training hours for those seeking a Child Development Associate (CDA) credential, CDA credential renewal or in-service training. Our courses provide a variety of engaging topics designed specifically for the early childhood professional.

Howard County Child Care Resource Center Training

Basic Health and Safety Training

Where is the training available? 

FREE online, visit and complete the training online. The free online Basic Health and Safety Training, hosted by MSDE, runs in cohorts. There is only one course per month and registration is required.

Want to attend the in-person 3-hour Basic Health and Safety Training? 

Cost: $30 phone/mail or $27 online

Register online for the in-person Basic Health and Safety Training

 (All upcoming Basic and Safety Training workshops will display)

Project Security Blanket

Project Security Blanket provides training and technical assistance for Maryland child care center staff members, family child care providers, and informal providers on the development of a written emergency plan for their programs.

The Howard County Child Care Resource Center offers the in-person training two times per year. Register for the in-person six hour training.

Looking for an online version of Project Security Blanket?

An online version of this training is now available. 



The Nest and Training Calendar

The Nest e-newsletter and training calendar, published three times per year, is an electronic publication of the Howard County Office of Children and Families for early care and education professionals! Learn about new training regulations, resources that are available to assist you in your professional development, upcoming workshops, conferences and events.

View or print past issues of The Nest Newsletter