Howard County Delegation to the Maryland General Assembly

MD seal


Public Notice of Delegation Meeting

The Howard County Delegation to the Maryland General Assembly will hold a work session, open to the public, on Saturday, January 12, 2019, beginning at 10:00am, in the Banneker Room of the George Howard Building, 3430 Courthouse Drive, Ellicott City, MD, regarding legislation pertaining to the County’s public facilities surcharge, school redistricting, the adequate public facilities ordinance (APFO) process, and school construction funding in general. Click here to view  the presentation on the Public Facilities surcharge. Click here to view the school construction presentation, or click here to view it on the Howard County Public School System website. Click here to view the APFO presentation. Click here to view the agenda for this meeting. This is a Howard County Delegation work session, not a public hearing. However, members of the public are invited to attend and listen.

Please be aware that as of January 14, 2019, the new Senate Chair for the Howard County Delegation will be Senator Clarence K. Lam, replacing the current Senate Chair, Senator Guy Guzzone. The House Chair will continue to be Delegate Terri L. Hill. Please send all correspondence for the Delegation Chairs to Senator Lam and Delegate Hill beginning on January 14, 2019. 

The Howard County Delegation has scheduled their first meeting to discuss and potentially vote on local bills.  The first work/voting session of 2019 will be held on Wednesday, January 16, 2019, at 9:00am in the Lowe House of Delegates Building, Room 218, 6 Bladen Street, Annapolis, Maryland 21401. Click here to view the agenda for this meeting. Click here to view 2019 proposed local legislation. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Kam Bridges at the Howard County Delegation office at 410-841-3360 or send an email to [email protected]


2019 Legislative Session Schedule


The 2019 legislative session will begin on January 9, 2019. As of July 1, 2018, our Delegation chairmen are Senator Guy Guzzone and Delegate Terri L. Hill. The Howard County Delegation of the Maryland General Assembly held a public hearing on 2019 proposed local legislation November 26, 2018 . No testimony on other issues was permitted as a second hearing devoted to statewide bills will be scheduled in February 2019 in Howard County.

The 2019 proposed local bills and bond requests are available on the Proposed Local Legislation page. 

The video recordings of past Delegation public hearings, including the most recent Public Hearing on Local Bills, are available on our Past Maryland General Assembly Meetings page.

The Delegation will hold work sessions, open to the public, in Annapolis during the legislative session to discuss and vote on proposed local legislation. Additional details about future public hearings and delegation meetings will be posted on this page as they are scheduled.

You can view legislation of interest (statewide bills and local bills approved by the Delegation during work sessions) on the Maryland General Assembly (MGA) website as they are officially filed during the legislative session. The MGA website includes information about hearing schedules and rules pertaining to giving testimony to the assigned committees, as well as recordings of hearings and legislative sessions, legislation status, and related documents.

For further information, or to be added to the distribution list for email notifications about Delegation meetings and public hearings, please feel free to contact Kam Bridges at the Howard County Delegation office at 410-841-3360 or send an email to [email protected].

Delegation Members

The Howard County Delegation members are listed below, including links to their full contact and biographical information on the Maryland General Assembly website: 

   Clarence K. Lam, Senate Delegation Chair

   Terri L. Hill, House Delegation Chair

   Guy Guzzone, Senator

   Katie Fry Hester, Senator

   Vanessa E. Atterbeary, Delegate

   Eric Ebersole, Delegate

   Jessica Feldmark, Delegate

   Trent Kittleman, Delegate

   Warren E. Miller, Delegate

   Shane Pendergrass, Delegate

   Jen Terrasa, Delegate

   Courtney Watson, Delegate