Howard County Office of Human Trafficking Prevention

Sidney Ford, Human Trafficking Prevention Coordinator / 410-313-6558

9830 Patuxent Woods Drive / Columbia, MD 21046

Mission, History and Current Work:

The Office of Human Trafficking Prevention’s mission is to help prevent human trafficking in Howard County, Maryland, and beyond.  Its mandate to prevent both sexual and labor trafficking is fulfilled in part through the work of the Human Trafficking Prevention Coordinating Council (HTPCC), an appointed and voluntary body which held its first meeting in December, 2017.   

The HTPCC was established by Howard County Executive Allan H. Kittleman on March 24, 2017 (Executive Order 2017-02).  Through this Order, County Executive Kittleman furthered the work of the Howard County Human Trafficking Task Force, which produced a final report on December 1, 2014, after many months of extensive analysis and effort. 

The Council meets on a monthly basis and convenes workgroups as needed.  No confidential information is discussed.  All meetings are publicized in advance on this webpage and are open to the public.

Our office is a part of the Howard County Department of Community Resources and Services, led by Jacqueline R. Scott, Director, and Cheryl Mattis, Deputy Director.  We subscribe to the “No Wrong Door” policy – any trafficking victim/survivor who needs assistance can receive help and referrals through us or our partner agencies such as HopeWorks or Grassroots Crisis Intervention Center (410-531-6677)

The Office of Human Trafficking Prevention also aligns with the values and standards of the Maryland Human Trafficking Task Force, partnering with anti-trafficking agencies and organizations which conform to the best practices in the field.

If you are interested in learning more about the work of the HTPCC or how you can join the fight against sexual or labor trafficking, contact Sidney Ford, Human Trafficking Prevention Coordinator, at 410-313-6558 (voice/relay) or  We look forward to hearing from you soon. 

Human Trafficking Prevention Coordinating Council (HTPCC) Upcoming Meetings

  • Next General Meeting:  Wednesday, December 19, 9-10:30 a.m., North Laurel Community Center (9411 Whiskey Bottom Road, Laurel, MD 20723), in the Patuxent Art Studio


HTPCC Appointed Members and Designees



DCRS Director Jacqueline R. Scott, Chair

Ms. Cheryl Mattis, DCRS Deputy Director


Appointed Members and Designees:

Ms. Wendy Schoonmaker (Advocate & Survivor)

Dr. Barbara Sands and Ms. Farheen Sheik (HC Office of Human Rights)

Ms. Kim Oldham and Ms. Colleen McGuinn (HC Office of the State’s Attorney)

Chief Gary Gardner and Captain Cory Zirk (HC Police Department)

Ms. Karen Butler and Ms. Nancy Voight (HC Department of Social Services)

Dr. Maura Rossman and Ms. Andrea Raid, Ms. Adele Ma (HC Health Department)

Sheriff William McMahon and Ms. Dina Ward (HC Sheriff’s Office)

Mr. James LeMon and Ms. Kelly Ruby (HC Public School System)

Ms. Sara Cochran, Ms. Leslie Petak and Ms. Deadra Atkins (HoCo AGAST)

Ms. Jennifer Pollitt-Hill and Ms. Samantha Samuel-Nakka (HopeWorks)

Ms. Ayesha Holmes and Ms. Sara Smoley (Grassroots Crisis Intervention Center)

Ms. Leslie Iampieri (Howard County General Hospital)

Ms. Suellen Seigel (Community Member)

Mr. Mark Breaux (Community Member)


DCRS Staff:  Ms. Sidney Ford, Human Trafficking Prevention Coordinator and Ms. Cara Baumgartner, Administrative Assistant





HTPCC Minutes

December 20, 2017
February 21, 2018
April 18, 2018
May 16, 2018


Executive Order 2017-2 (Establishing HTPCC)

Is Someone You Know a Victim of Human Trafficking?

If you or someone you know may be a victim of sexual or labor trafficking, please call the Grassroots Crisis Center hotline at 410-531-6677For anyone in immediate danger, call 911. 

For more information on human trafficking, call the Office of Human Trafficking Prevention at 410-313-6558 or contact the National Human Trafficking Hotline at 888-373-7888.