The Howard County Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission (MLK) was established by order of the Howard County Executive to encourage and coordinate appropriate ceremonies and activities honoring Martin Luther King, Jr. Commissioners are appointed by the County Executive to serve an initial term of two years. Each year, the MLK celebration takes place on the third Sunday of January. The Day of Service takes place the next day on the third Monday of January. The Day of Service provides a variety of service opportunities throughout the community that is representative of Dr. King’s dedication to servant leadership.



The Howard County Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission is seeking nominations for the Commission’s 2022 “Living the Dream” Award. The award will recognize an individual or organization (community, civic or religious) who has promoted the teaching and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., through community involvement. The award will be presented at the Commission’s annual Howard County Commemorative Celebration Program.

This year’s awards celebration will be presented virtually on Sunday, January 16t, 2022.  Living The Dream Applications are Due by October 29, 2021. 

 Entrees can be dropped off at the Office of Human Rights & Equity by Friday, October 29, 2021, at 5:00 PM.

Please submit applications at the link. https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/ZFTCMH7


The commission is also seeking school-age contestants for the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission 2022 Essay, Poster, and Oratory Contests.

Find the Application for Essay, Oratory, and Art Contests at this link.


The deadline for all contests is October 31, 2021.  Entries must be submitted via email or hand delivered by 5:00 PM EST Oct 31, 2021, to [email protected]

or mailed to:

Howard County Office of Human Rights & Equity

ATTN: MLK 2021-2022 Poster Contest

9820 Patuxent Woods Dr. Suite 237

Columbia, MD 21046

Entrees can be dropped off to the Office of Human Rights & Equity by Friday, October 29, 2021, at 5:00 PM.



Enter the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission Contests

Commission Information

Abbie Diane Martin, Ph.D., Chair

Kurt W. Wall, Vice Chair 

Tina Horn, Secretary 

Hunter Craig

Dr. Clarita Dawson

Caroline Harper, Ph.D. 

Maurice Frazier

Teresa Garcia

Bert Hash, Jr.

Chalise Latimer

Kimberly McCauley

Daniel Nairn

Yetta Roggerson

Bonnie Sorak

Brett Vess

Tracey l. Williams

Brett Vess





Meeting Schedule

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission meets on the first Wednesday of every month, except in July.  Meetings are open to the public. 

Meeting Agendas & Minutes

December 1st 

  • Agenda
  • Minutes

November 3rd

  • Agenda
  • Minutes

October 6th

September 1st

August 4th

June 2nd

May 5th

April 7th

March 3rd

February 3rd

January 6th


December 2nd

November 4th

October 7th

September 2nd

August 5th

June 3rd

May 6th

April 1st

March 4th

February 5th

January 8th


December 4th

November 6th

October 2nd

September 4th

July 10th

June 5th

May 1st

April 3rd

March 6th

February 6th

January 2nd


December 5th

November 7th

October 3rd

September 5th

June 6th

April 4th

March 7th

February 28th

January 3rd


December 6th

November 1st

October 4th

September 6th

June 7th

April 5th

March 1st

February 1st

Boards & Commissions

Stay Connected!

Sign up for the County Executive's weekly newsletter and stay up to date on everything Howard County.

Zip Code