Contact Us

Howard County Recreation & Parks
7120 Oakland Mills Road
Columbia, MD 21046

410-313-4700 General Information (M-F, 8 AM-5 PM)
410-313-4660 FAX
410-313-PARK (7275) Registration (M-F, 8 AM-4:30 PM)

Inclement Weather/Program Status Lines

#main { } #hidden { DISPLAY: none } #hidden2 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden3 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden4 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden5 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden6 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden7 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden8 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden9 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden10 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden11 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden12 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden13 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden14 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden15 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden16 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden17 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden18 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden19 { DISPLAY: none } #hidden20 { DISPLAY: none }
 

Administration  

John R. Byrd, Director
410-313-4640
jbyrd@howardcountymd.gov  

John S. Marshall, Chief, Parks & Program Services
410-313-4640
jsmarshall@howardcountymd.gov  

Raul Delerme, Chief, Capital Projects, Park Planning & Construction
410-313-4685
rdelerme@howardcountymd.gov  

Laura Wetherald, Chief, Bureau of Recreation Services
410-313-4640
lwetherald@howardcountymd.gov  

Mike Milani, Chief, Bureau of Administrative Services
410-313-4629
mmilani@howardcountymd.gov  

Adult Programs  

Danielle Bassett, Manager
Cooking, Crafts and Fine Arts, Dance, Lifelong Learning and Music
410-313-1693
dbassett@howardcountymd.gov  

Karen Bradley Ehler, Coordinator
410-313-4635
KEhler@howardcountymd.gov  

Capital Projects, Park Planning and Construction  

Raul Delerme, Bureau Chief
410-313-4689
rdelerme@howardcountymd.gov  

Brenda Mercado, Administrative Analyst
410-313-4685
bmercado@howardcountymd.gov  

Clara Gouin, RLA, Park Planner
410-313-4687
cgouin@howardcountymd.gov  

Paul Walsky, RLA, Park Planner
410-313-1695
pwalsky@howardcountymd.gov  

Ed Bromley, Engineering Support Technician I
410-313-4688
ebromley@howardcountymd.gov  

Dawn Poholsky, GIS Specialist
Geographical Information Systems (GIS),
Global Positioning System (GPS)
Database Management, Web Content Editor
410-313-1677
dpoholsky@howardcountymd.gov  

Bob Linz, Operations Supervisor 3
410-313-4709
blinz@howardcountymd.gov  

Jeff Hull, Operations Supervisor 1
410-313-4631
jhull@howardcountymd.gov  

Mike Peach, Building Maintenance & Security
410-313-4731
mpeach@howardcountymd.gov  

Tim Nedzel, Operations Supervisor 3
410-313-1605
tnedzel@howardcountymd.gov  

Community, Recreation & Nature Centers  

Gary J. Arthur Community Center at Glenwood 
General Information
Phone: 410-313-4840
FAX: 410-313-4846

Stephanie Haas Simon, Facility Director
410-313-4844
SSimon@howardcountymd.gov

Heather Sites, Assistant Director
410-313-4845
hsites@howardcountymd.gov

Matthew Zervas, Facility Coordinator
410-313-4835
mzervas@howardcountymd.gov

Justin Rutledge, Registration Specialist
410-313-4841
jrutledge@howardcountymd.gov

North Laurel Community Center
General Information
Phone: 410-313-0390
FAX: 240-568-3030

Matt Madera, Facility Director
410-313-0456
mmadera@howardcountymd.gov

Tessa Hurd, Assistant Facility Director
410-313-0457
thurd@howardcountymd.gov

Roger Carter Community Center 
General Information
Phone: 410-313-2764
FAX: 410-313-2746

Julija Sajauskas, Facility Director
410-313-2722
jsajauskas@howardcountymd.gov

Todd Holmes, Assistant Facility Director
410-313-2765
tcholmes@howardcountymd.gov

Montrez Brown, Facility Coordinator
410-313-2748
mjbrown@howardcountymd.gov

Kiwanis Wallas Recreation Center
Joy Young, Facility Director
410-313-7311
jkyoung@howardcountymd.gov

Meadowbrook Athletic Complex
Matt Knoerlein, Facility Supervisor
410-313-1163
mknoerlein@howardcountymd.gov

Greg Meyd, Youth Programs and Summer Camps  
410-313-1162 
gmeyd@howardcountymd.gov

Robinson Nature Center 
General Information
Front desk: 410-313-0400 or 410-313-0401

Stacey Yankee, Center Director
410-313-0404
syankee@howardcountymd.gov

Meagan Downey, Program Manager
410-313-0405
mdowney@howardcountymd.gov

Kevin Costin, Rental & Field Trip Coordinator
410-313-0410
kcostin@howardcountymd.gov

Brian Campbell, Volunteer Coordinator
410-313-0406
bcampbell@howardcountymd.gov

Pamela Reese, Community Liaison & Outreach
410-313-0673
pareese@howardcountymd.gov

Katie Peet, Naturalist
410-313-0407
kpeet@howardcountymd.gov

Marisa Olszewski, Exhibits & Special Projects Specialist
410-313-0672
molszewski@howardcountymd.gov

Emily David, Registration Supervisor
410-313-0402
edavid@howardcountymd.gov

Early Childhood and Youth Programs

Adam Wienckowski, Manager;
Youth: Chess, Culture, Etiquette, LEGO®, Music, Science/Technology; Early Childhood Activities
410-313-4714
awienckowski@howardcountymd.gov

Melissa Calleri, Coordinator
School-age Youth Arts, Cooking, Dance
410-313-4721
mcalleri@howardcountymd.gov

Cindy Ochs, Coordinator
Early Childhood, Preschool Arts, Cooking, Parent-Child
410-313-4681
cochs@howardcountymd.gov

Heritage  

Caitlin Chamberlain, Heritage Program & Facilities Manager
410-313-0420
cchamberlain@howardcountymd.gov  

Jaimie Wilder, Heritage Program & Facilities Coordinator
410-313-0419
jwilder@howardcountymd.gov  

Kiri Houpt, Heritage Educator
410-313-0423
khoupt@howardcountymd.gov  

Tim Nedzel, Heritage Operations Supervisor
410-313-4955
tnedzel@howardcountymd.gov  

Horticulture and Land Management  

Tim Overstreet, Division Supervisor
410-313-4627
toverstreet@howardcountymd.gov

Joann Frush, Operations Supervisor
410-313-4733
jfrush@howardcountymd.gov

Chris Tolson, Contract Management
410-313-4732 
ctolson@howardcountymd.gov

Marketing  

Anna Hunter, Marketing & Public Information
410-313-4686
ahunter@howardcountymd.gov  

Natural Resources & Open Space  

Dan McNamara, Superintendent
410-313-4725
dmcnamara@howardcountymd.gov  

Erika Borzatti, Administrative Assistant
410-313-1636
eborzatti@howardcountymd.gov  

Phil Norman, Deer Management Manager
410-313-1675
pnorman@howardcountymd.gov  

Cheryl Farfaras, Middle Patuxent Environmental Area (MPEA) Manager
410-313-4726
cfarfaras@howardcountymd.gov  

Jeff Claffy, Middle Patuxent Environmental Area (MPEA) Assistant Manager,
MPEA Volunteer Programs
410-313-6209
jclaffy@howardcountymd.gov  

Brenda Belensky, Wildlife Management and Trail Development
410-313-4724
bbelensky@howardcountymd.gov  

Sue Muller, Maryland Amphibian & Reptile Atlas Coordinator, Howard County GreenFest Co-chair, FrogWatch USA, NestWatch, Weed Warriors, Butterfly surveys
410-313-4697
smuller@howardcountymd.gov  

Dan McNamara, Natural Resources Operations Manager
410-313-4725
dmcnamara@howardcountymd.gov  

David Keane, Forest Conservation, Reforestation Manager
410-313-1676
dkeane@howardcountymd.gov  

Bryan Moody, Forest Conservation Inspections and Enforcement
410-313-6201
bmoody@howardcountymd.gov  

Megan Handshu Mills, Private Forest Conservation Establishment,
Stream Releaf and Plant (It) Green Programs
410-313-6205
mlhmills@howardcountymd.gov  

Charlie Peregoy, Regulations Inspector I
and Dedications
410-313-1678
cperegoy@howardcountymd.gov  

Anthony Tanner, Park Ranger
410-313-4613
atanner@howardcountymd.gov  

Kevin Vest, Park Ranger Supervisor I
410-313-4679
kvest@howardcountymd.gov  

Park Operations  

Park Information
410-313-4700

Heather Johannes, Park Operations Superintendent
410-313-1690
hjohannes@howardcountymd.gov

Donna Szyman, Park Operations Assistant
410-313-4647
dszyman@howardcountymd.gov  

Neal Hollingshead, Operations Supervisor III, Zone 1 (Cedar Lane Park)
410-313-7398
nhollingshead@howardcountymd.gov  

Greg Fiala, Operations Supervisor I, Zone 1 (Cedar Lane Park)
410-313-7285
gfiala@howardcountymd.gov  

George Birmingham, Park Maintenance Leader, Zone 1 (Savage Park)
410-313-6152
gbirmingham@howardcountymd.gov  

John Peach, Operations Supervisor III, Zone 2 (Centennial Park)
410-313-0418
jpeach@howardcountymd.gov  

Steve Schwarzman, Operations Supervisor I, Zone 2 (Centennial Park)
410-313-7271
sschwarzman@howardcountymd.gov  

Rick Femiano, Operations Supervisor III, Zone 3 (Schooley Mill Park)
410-313-6133
rfemiano@howardcountymd.gov  

Jim Craft, Operations Supervisor I, Zone 3 (Western Regional Park)
410-313-5497
jcraft@howardcountymd.gov  

Steve Reed, Operations Supervisor III, Zone 4 (Rockburn Branch Park)
410-313-5132
sreed@howardcountymd.gov  

Mary Ellen Baker, Belmont Manor and Historic Park General Manager
410-313-4632
mebaker@howardcountymd.gov

Cathy Allen, Belmont Manor and Historic Park Assistant Manager
410-313-1686
callen@howardcountymd.gov

Robert Dietrich, Belmont Manor and Historic Park Events
410-313-1686
rdietrich@howardcountymd.gov

Pavilion & Field Reservations  

Rachel Hall, Pavilion Rentals
410-313-4682
rmhall@howardcountymd.gov  

Jean Shea, Field Permits
410-313-4626
jshea@howardcountymd.gov  

Recreational Licensed Child Care and Community Services  

Nicola Morgal, Superintendent
410-313-4723
nmorgal@howardcountymd.gov  

Joynel K. Young, Recreation Manager
410-313-4717
jkyoung@howardcountymd.gov  

Stephanie Wise, Supervisor
Early Learning Centers & Elementary Child Care: Elkridge
410-313-4712
swise@howardcountymd.gov  

Claudia Charity, Supervisor
Elementary Child Care: Bellows Spring, Forest Ridge, Gorman Crossing, Ilchester & Laurel Woods
410-313-4636
ccharity@howardcountymd.gov  

Glen Turner, Supervisor
Elementary Child Care: Dayton Oaks, Hollifield Station, Rockburn, St. Johns Lane, Triadelphia Ridge & Waverly
410-313-4713
gturner@howardcountymd.gov  

Brian Murphy, Coordinator 
Elementary Child Care: Bushy Park, Lisbon & Veterans 
410-313-4797
ccharity@howardcountymd.gov  

Shavon Pearson-Gordon, Coordinator
CAN-Teen Clubs at Bonnie Branch, Elkridge Landing, Ellicott Mills, Folly Quarter, Patapsco & Thomas Viaduct; Elementary Child Care: Ducketts Lane & Fulton
410-313-4633
spearson@howardcountymd.gov  

Donna Jackson-Parker, Coordinator: Bollman Bridge, Deep Run & Homework Clubs
410-313-1696
DJacksonparker@howardcountymd.gov

Julia Martin, Coordinator: Manor Woods, Pointers Run & West Friendship  
410-313-1687 
jmartin@howardcountymd.gov  

Recreation Services  

Phil Bryan, Superintendent
410-313-1668
pbryan@howardcountymd.gov

Registration  

General Registration (Program information, Refund/
Withdrawal Requests)
410-313-7275

Christine Wilson, Supervisor
410-313-7275
registration@howardcountymd.gov  

Senior Adult 55+ Programs  

Cathy Vigus, Manager
Adults 55+ Non Fitness/Sports Programs
410-313-7311
cvigus@howardcountymd.gov

Ginny Russ, Coordinator
Adults 55+, Trips and Tours
410-313-7279
vruss@howardcountymd.gov

Wine in the Woods:

Phil Bryan
410-313-1668
pbryan@howardcountymd.gov

Summer Concerts:

Danielle Bassett
410-313-4634
dbassett@howardcountymd.gov  

Allan Harden, Superintendent
410-313-4652
aharden@howardcountymd.gov  

Mike Blevins, Sports Tournament and Events
410-313-1691
mblevins@howardcountymd.gov  

Will Dunmore, Track & Field (Hershey Event), Football (Adult), Jump Rope
410-313-1697
wdunmore@howardcountymd.gov  

Matt Knoerlein, Youth Leagues Manager
410-313-1163
mknoerlein@howardcountymd.gov

Pat McGinnis, Adult Soccer, Cricket, Camps
410-313-4716
pmcginnis@howardcountymd.gov

Derek Ludlow, Community Sports Manager, Coaches Registry
410-313-4706
dludlow@howardcountymd.gov  

Ray Hall, Community Sports, Elkridge Hurricanes, WHC Warhawks
410-313-1689
ARHall@howardcountymd.gov  

Sandra Lambert, Cheerleading, Football (NFL Flag; Terps), Rugby (Youth)
410-313-4715
slambert@howardcountymd.gov  

Derrick Thompson, Football (Steelers), Lacrosse Leagues
410-313-4736
dethompson@howardcountymd.gov  

Mark Pendleton, Adult Softball , Basketball, 55+ Tennis, 55+ Volleyball, 55+ Softball
410-313-4674
mpendleton@howardcountymd.gov  

Susan Markovitz, Adult Recreational Drop-In Sports, Field Hockey, Soccer (Youth Leagues), Ultimate Disc (Youth)
410-313-4674
samarkovitz@howardcountymd.gov  

Amy Patton, Fitness, Wrestling 
410-313-4718
apatton@howardcountymd.gov  

Amanda Bartell, Fencing, Martial Arts, Gymnastics, Preschool Sports
410-313-1694
abartell@howardcountymd.gov  

Carson Nickell, Youth Basketball League (5-8 yrs), Volleyball
410-313-4720
cjnickell@howardcountymd.gov  

Krista Billingsley, Golf, Tennis, Life Time and Individual, Youth Basketball League (9-14 yrs), High School Basketball League
410-313-4637
kbillingsley@howardcountymd.gov  

Brian Wyman, Instructional Sports, Columbia Baseball League
410-313-4705
bwyman@howardcountymd.gov  

Julija Sajauskas, Roger Carter Community Center Facility Director
410-313-2765
jsajauskas@howardcountymd.gov

Aquatics Supervisor, Roger Carter Community Center
410-313-2765

Montrez Brown, Roger Carter Community Center Facility Coordinator
410-313-2748
mjbrown@howardcountymd.gov

Dawn Thomas, Adventure & Outdoors Programs & Camps
410-313-4623
dthomas@howardcountymd.gov  

Matt Medicus, Adventure & Outdoors Programs & Camps
410-313-4719
mmedicus@howardcountymd.gov  

Teen Programs  

Holly Harden, Manager
Teen Programs
410-313-4625
hharden@howardcountymd.gov

Jennene Blakely, Supervisor
Teen Programs
410-313-1693
jlblakely@howardcountymd.gov

Vacant, Coordinator
Teen Programs
410-313-4609
kjones@howardcountymd.gov

Therapeutic Recreation/Inclusion  

Susan Potts, MS, CTRS , Manager
410-313-4628
spotts@howardcountymd.gov  

Ruth Coleman, Coordinator
410-313-4708
rucoleman@howardcountymd.gov  

For information about Summer TR Camps please contact:

Susan Potts, MS, CTRS, Manager
410-313-4628
spotts@howardcountymd.gov


Shawnte Berry, Volunteer & Special Projects Manager
410-313-4624
sberry@howardcountymd.gov  

Linda E. DiPanfilo, Volunteer & Special Projects Coordinator
410-313-4704
ldipanfilo@howardcountymd.gov