School Zones

Maryland law defines a school zone as a roadway within a half-mile radius of a school where State Highway Administration or the local authority (Howard County Department of Public Works, Traffic Engineering) may set maximum speed limits. Established school zones are marked with street signs indicating the zone boundaries and applicable speed limits. Howard County's automated speed enforcement positions "speed cameras" on roadways that either front schools or border school properties or roadways along student walking routes that are designated school zones. Each school zone is clearly marked as a school zone and as an automated speed enforcement (ASE) location. Links to school zone maps are provided below.

Howard County Police Automated Speed Enforcement

(Choose "Speed camera enforcement locations" from drop-down menu.)

Maryland State Highway Administration Automated Speed Enforcement

(Choose "Automated Speed Enforcement (ASE) in School Zones" from drop-down menu.)

Zone Maps


Atholton Adventist(No Speed Zone)
Beth Shalom Religious School(No Speed Zone)
Bethel Christian Academy - Elem
Bethel Christian Academy - Middle
Chapelgate Christian Academy
Columbia Academy
Columbia Jewish Community School
Crossroads Adventist School(No School Speed Zone)
Faith Bible Church Academy(No Speed Zone)
Glenelg Country
Linwood Children's Center, Inc(No Speed Zone)
Md. School For The Deaf
Mt. Airy Christian Academy
Norbel School
Our Lady Of Perpetual Help
Philips School-Laurel
Resurrection Roman Catholic
St. Augustine
St. Louis Elementary
The Julia Brown Montessori
The Young School
Trinity(No Speed Zone)
Woodmont Academy(No Speed Zone)