Community Planning

spring ec staircase



The Department of Planning and Zoning prepares many types of plans. These plans range in scope from the largest of geographies (the countywide General Plan) to corridor areas (Route 1, Route 40, and Clarksville Pike) to focused small areas (Ellicott City, North Laurel-Savage, Downtown Columbia, and Columbia Village Centers). Many plans call for enhanced building and site design, which the Design Advisory Panel process promotes.


General Plan

PlanHoward 2030, Howard County's General Plan, creates a sustainable framework for enhancing our economy, environment and quality of life.

Corridor Plans

Corridor plans address areas along roadways with design and streetscape strategies.

  • Route 1 Corridor
  • Route 40 Corridor
  • Clarksville Pike

Community Plans

Community plans focus on small areas with specialized topics.

  • Ellicott City
  • North Laurel-Savage
  • Downtown Columbia
  • Columbia Village Centers

Design Advisory Panel

The Design Advisory Panel process encourages excellence in project design.