News Search
News Archive
News Tags

County Executive Ball Celebrates Award-Winning Educators

County Executive Ball Celebrates Award-Winning Educators

Ellicott City, MD – Howard County Executive Calvin Ball today honored four prestigious educators for their dedication to providing our students with the best education. He was joined by Howard County Public School System (HCPSS) Superintendent Dr. Michael J. Martirano as he visited schools for two Principals of the Year and two Teachers of the Year for 2019.  Pictures from the visits can be found here.

“Howard County is known for the quality and success of our education system and our commitment to supporting students,” said Ball.  “The strength of our schools is thanks to the devotion and innovation of top notch administrators and teachers throughout the county. These four professionals are examples of the best of the best.”

Principal Nick Novak of Howard High School was named Principal of the Year by the Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals. His leadership and values inspire students to achieve the best education possible. 
Principal Josh Wasilewski of Long Reach High School was named the HCPSS’s 2019 Principal of the Year. He demonstrates commitment to building strong, positive relationships among our Long Reach community. 

HCPSS also selected two Teachers of the Year for 2019.  First, Sylvia Hennessie, a kindergarten team leader from Guilford Elementary School, shows tenacity in building relationships with our students to empower their creative learning. 

A second Teacher of the Year, Greg Murach, a math teacher at Mt. Hebron High School, is admired by many of his students, colleagues, and community members for his innovation and ability to make math understandable to his students. 
These outstanding administrators and teachers deserve to be honored for being an inspiration to us all.