Staff Contacts

Director's Office

Valdis Lazdins, Director 
vlazdins@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4301 

Amy Gowan, Deputy Director
agowan@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4340

Raj Kudchadkar, Deputy Director
rkudchadkar@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-6376

Laura Boone, Administrative Aide, Administrative Support for the Planning Board 
lboone@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4303 

Greg Bruno, Administrative Analyst
gbruno@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4305

Laurie Scott, Administrative Support, Reception 
lascott@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-2350

Zoning Administration and Public Service

Geoff Goins, Division Chief
ggoins@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4350

Curtis Braithwaite, Regulation Inspector, Zoning Enforcement 
cbraithwaite@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4415 

Tamara Frank, Regulation Inspector, Zoning Enforcement 
tfrank@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3362 

Zan Koldewey, Planner, Zoning Board/ Hearing Authority Cases 
zkoldewey@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4323

Bob Lalush, Planner, Zoning Board/Hearing Authority Cases, Zoning Interpretations, Zoning Verification Letters 
blalush@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4344 

Anthony LaRose, Inspection Supervisor, Zoning Enforcement
alarose@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4320 

Annette Merson, Public Service, Zoning Review of Building Permits
amerson@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4313

Steve Rolls, Residential Permits, Water & Sewer Applications
srolls@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4392

Diana Rose, Commercial Permits, Advanced Deposit Orders
dmrose@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3372

Toni Sieglein, Administrative Support
tsieglein@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-2424

Land Development

Kent Sheubrooks, Division Chief 
ksheubrooks@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4390 

David Boellner, Plan Review 

dboellner@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-3956

Julia Boone, Plan Review
jboone@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4342 

Eric Buschman, Plan Review, Plan Acceptance 
ebuschman@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-0729 

Nick Haines, Plan Review 
nhaines@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4333

JJ Hartner, Plan Review 
jehartner@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4383

Rashidi Jackson, Plan Review, Plan Acceptance 
 rjackson@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313- 3369

Derrick Jones, Plan Review
djones@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4330

Brenda Luber, Plan Review, Forest Conservation Database 
bluber@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4343 

Tanya Maenhardt, Planning Supervisor, Plan Review 
tmaenhardt@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4332

Jill Manion-Farrar, Planning Supervisor, Plan Review 
jfarrar@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4338 

Carol Stirn, Schedules Plan Submission Appointments, Road Name Approval, Pre-submission Signs, Administrative Support 
cstirn@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4351 

Jennifer Wellen, Plan Review, Plan Acceptance, Landscape Database 
jwellen@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4394

Development Engineering

Chad Edmondson, Division Chief 
cedmondson@howardcountymd.gov 

410-313-2406

Maury Gogolski, Professional Engineer, Stormwater Management
mgogolski@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-2360

Jayesh Pancholi, Professional Engineer, Stormwater Management, General Engineering
jpancholi@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3370

Heather Pandullo, Stormwater Management, General Engineering
hpandullo@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4375

Jeff Pickett, Administrative Support, Intake of water/sewer submissions, Redline Revisions
jepickett@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3363

Phil Thompson, Professional Engineer, Senior Engineer, Stormwater Management, Fast Track Projects, General Engineering, Special Projects
pthompson@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3368

James Witmer, Professional Engineer, General Engineering
jwitmer@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3366

Nicole Yan, General Engineering
nyan@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3365 

Resource Conservation

Beth Burgess, Division Chief
bburgess@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4341

Mitch Ford, Agricultural Preservation Monitoring & Stewardship Planning Technician
mford@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4380

Samantha Holmes, Historic Preservation Planner, Historic Preservation Commission
sholmes@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4428

Joy Levy, Agriculture Preservation Administrator
jlevy@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4382

Nicole Okuniek, Environmental Planner
nokuniek@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-1174

Susan Overstreet, Environmental Planner
soverstreet@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4345

Ken Short, Architectural Historian, Historic Sites Surveyor

kshort@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4335

Yvette Zhou, Administrative Support for Cemetery Preservation Advisory Board, Historic Preservation Commission, and Design Advisory Panel
yvzhou@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-6571

Comprehensive and Community Planning

Kristin O'Connor, Division Chief  
koconnor@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4321

Kate Bolinger, Community Planner 
kbolinger@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4393 

Randy Clay, Community Planner, GIS Specialist 
rclay@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4381

George Saliba, Community Planner 
gsaliba@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4364

Research

Jeffrey Bronow, Division Chief
jbronow@howardcountymd.gov 

410-313-4370

Terry Bromery, Technical Service Support, Large Format Imaging
tbromery@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-2073

David Dell, Research Planner
ddell@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4322

Carrie Grosch, Research Planner, GIS
cgrosch@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4420

Lisa Kenney, Research Planner
lkenney@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4373

Sharon Melis, Research Planner, Database Coordinator
smelis@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4325

Location and Hours

Department of Planning and Zoning
3430 Court House Drive 
Ellicott City, MD 21043

Phone: 410-313-2350
Fax: 410-313-3467

Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 am to 5:00 pm