Contact Us

Inspections, Licenses & Permits

Inspection, Licenses and Permits 

Main Office Address 

Department of Inspections, Licenses & Permits 

George Howard Building
3430 Court House Drive
Ellicott City, Maryland 21043
Phone: 410-313-2455
Fax: 410-313-3298
Fax: 410-313-3322

DIRECTOR'S OFFICE

Robert J. Frances, P.E., Director
410- 313-2433
bfrances@howardcountymd.gov

Elaine Hauck, Administrative Assistant to the Director
410-313-2433
ehauck@howardcountymd.gov

OPERATIONS DIVISION

Robert Firmani, Chief of Operations 
410-313-3947 
bfirmani@howardcountymd.gov

Chris Walker, Technical and Database Administrator
410-313-3967 
lcwalker@howardcountymd.gov 

LICENSES & PERMITS DIVISION

Shari Logan, Chief of Licenses & Permits
410- 313-3949
slogan@howardcountymd.gov    

General Permits Related Information
410-313-2455

Electrical Licensing Information
410-313-2455 
 

PLAN REVIEW DIVISION

Donald Mock, P.E., Chief of Plan Review
410-313-3948
dmock@howardcountymd.gov 

George Martin
Engineering Specialist I
Residential Building
410-313-3955
gmartin@howardcountymd.gov 

Daniel Swinder
Engineering Specialist I
Residential Building
410-313-3953
dswinder@howardcountymd.gov 

James Hobson
Engineering Specialist I
Commercial Building
410-313-3966
jhobson@howardcountymd.gov 

Adolphe Huriaux
Engineering Specialist I
Plumbing , Mechanical and Commercial Interiors
410-313-3952
ahuriaux@howardcountymd.gov

Sydonia Garrott
Engineering Specialist III
Fire Protection and Commercial Interiors
410-313-4319
sgarrott@howardcountymd.gov

Andrew Arnold
Engineering Associate
Fire Protection and Commercial Building
410-313-3871
aarnold@howardcountymd.gov

Donald Craumer
Engineering Specialist I
Electrical
410-313-1822
dcraumer@howardcountymd.gov   

Debbie Whalen
Engineering Support Technician II
Technical Support
410-313-2436
dwhalen@howardcountymd.gov


INSPECTIONS & ENFORCEMENT DIVISION

Thomas B. Dorsey Building

9250 Bendix Road

Columbia, Maryland 21045

410-313-1823

Automated Inspections Requests
410-313-3800
Fax 410-313-1861 

General Information 7:30 am to 4:00 pm
Building & Fire Protection
410-313-1810

Electrical
410-313-1820

Plumbing and Mechanical
410-313-1840

Rental Housing & Signs
410-313-1830

Sean Kelly, Chief of Inspections & Enforcement Division 

410-313-1801
skelly@howardcountymd.gov 

Brenda Saucedo, Chief Rental Housing & Sign Code Inspector
410-313-1831
bsaucedo@howardcountymd.gov 

Nicolas Saucedo, Chief Plumbing & Mechanical Inspector 

410-313-1841
nsaucedo@howardcountymd.gov

James Jackson, Chief Electrical Inspector
410-313-1821
jajackson@howardcountymd.gov

ELECTRICAL INSPECTIONS
 

Automated Inspections Requests 

410-313-3800 

Electrical Inspectors (Office Hours 7:30 a.m to 9:00 a.m., Monday through Friday)
410-313-1820
Fax 410-313-1861 

Jim Jackson
Chief Electrical Inspector
410-313-1821
jajackson@howardcountymd.gov

Steve Meyers
Electrical Inspector
410-313-5808

Joseph Murray
Electrical Inspector
410-313-1828

Bruce Paul
Electrical Inspector
410-313-1825

Lloyd Self
Electrical Inspector
410-313-1826

Larry Wyatt
Electrical Inspector
410-313-1824

 BUILDING & FIRE INSPECTIONS

Automated Inspections Requests 
410-313-3800 
Fax  410-313-1861

Building Inspectors (Office Hours 7:30 a.m to 9:00 a.m., Monday through Friday)
410-313-1810

Thomas Huskins
Chief Building Inspector
410-313-1811

thuskins@howardcountymd.gov

Ed Ackerman
Building Inspector
410-313-1839

David Baer
Building Inspector
410-313-1814

William Blotzer
Building & Fire Protection Inspector
410-313-1813

Jason Fawcett
Building Inspector
410-313-1819

Thomas Frey
Building Inspector
410-313-1816

Eddie Jeffers
Fire Protection Inspector
410-313-1837

Rod Marshall
Building Inspector
410-313-1812

PLUMBING & MECHANICAL INSPECTIONS

Automated Inspections Requests
410-313-3800
Fax 410-313-1861

Plumbing/Mechanical Inspectors (Office Hours 7:30 a.m to 9:00 a.m., Monday through Friday)
410-313-1840

Note: For same day Emergency Sewer and Water call 410-313-1840 between 8:00 a.m.to 9:00 a.m.

Nicholas Saucedo
Chief Plumbing Inspector
410-313-1841
nsaucedo@howardcountymd.gov

John Hidey
Plumbing & Mechanical Inspector
410-313-1844

Andre Nejman
Plumbing & Mechanical Inspector
410-313-1846

Robert Reese
Plumbing & Mechanical Inspector
410-313-5768

Edward Reger
Plumbing & Mechanical Inspector
410-313-1850

Darrell Smith
Plumbing & Mechanical Inspector
410-313-1842

RENTAL HOUSING & SIGNS

Inspections are by appointment only.

General Information 410-313-1830
Fax 410-313-1861

Rental Housing/Sign Code Inspectors are available by phone Monday through Friday 7:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.
All other times please leave a voice mail message.

Brenda Saucedo
Chief Rental Housing & Sign Code Inspector
410-313-1831
bsaucedo@howardcountymd.gov

Richard Crawford
Code Enforcement Officer
410-313-1832

Jonathan Frias
Code Enforcement Officer
410-313-1834

Mike Hurley
Code Enforcement Officer
410-313-1845

Bonnie Hurwitz
Code Enforcement Officer
410-313-1833

Wayne Killebrew
Code Enforcement Officer
410-313-1836

Ed Marquardt, Jr.
Code Enforcement Officer
410-313-1815

Holley Robbins
Code Enforcement Officer
410-313-1835