News Search
News Archive
News Tags

Howard County To Hold Its First LGBTQ+ PRIDE Festival

June 28, 2019

Media Contact: Scott L. Peterson, Director of Communications, Office of Public Information, 202-277-9412

ELLICOTT CITY – On Saturday, Howard County Executive Calvin Ball will partner with PFLAG Howard County to host the county’s first-ever PRIDE Festival to celebrate the LBGTQ+ community. This family-friendly event will feature food, music, games, entertainment of all kinds, community resources, allies, friends, and fun!

The festival will take place during Pride Month, designated to support and celebrate members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer+ communities. Howard County PRIDE is also set to coincide with the 50th anniversary of the 1969 Stonewall Uprising in New York City. Those demonstrations by the LGBTQ+ community helped spur the gay liberation movement that continues today. Accordingly, the theme of the festival will be “Remember, Resist, and Rejoice.” More information on the festival can be found here.

“As we honor this month of pride, Howard County stands in solidarity with our LGBTQ+ community. This year we will finally celebrate with a PRIDE Festival right here in Howard County,” said Ball. “We will remember those who fought for justice. We will resist those who would turn back the clock on equal rights, and we will rejoice because of the LGBTQ+ love we have in our community.”

Family-friendly PRIDE festival to celebrate the LGBTQ+ community in Howard County

Saturday, June 29, 2019 from 11 AM – 5 PM

Centennial Park (Main/South Entrance), 10000 Clarksville Pike, Ellicott City, MD 21042



Calvin Ball, Howard County Executive
Christiana Mercer Rigby, Howard County Council Chair
Deb Jung, Howard County Councilmember
Liz Walsh, Howard County Concilmember
Obie Chinemere, representing U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen
Liz Bobo, Former Howard County Executive
Guy Guzzone, Maryland State Senator
Clarence Lam, Maryland State Senator
Eric Ebersole, Maryland State Delegate
Jessica Feldmark, Maryland State Delegate
JenTerrasa, Maryland State Delegate
Terri Hill, Maryland State Delegate
Courtney Watson, Maryland State Delegate
Kirsten Coombs, Howard County Board of Education Vice Chair
Vicky Cutroneo, Howard County Board of Education
Mavis Ellis, Howard County Board of Education Chair
Jen Mallo, Howard County Board of Education
Byron McFarlane, Howard County Register of Wills