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Howard County police to participate in
Distracted Driving Awareness Month

April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and the Howard County Police Department (HCPD) is
spreading the message to drivers that distracted driving is not only hazardous to themselves, but to others
as well.

During the month, HCPD will join law enforcement agencies across the state in conducting distracted
driving enforcement and talking with motorists about the risks of distracted driving. The department also
will promote the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration Highway Safety Office’s “Park the Phone”
campaign, a statewide effort to discourage distracted driving.

“Every day on the roads in Howard County, police see drivers who are distracted by their phones, posing a
danger to themselves, other motorists, and pedestrians,” Police Chief Gary L. Gardner said. “That text
message or video can wait. It’s not worth the risk.”

Drivers can be ticketed for writing, sending, or reading a text or electronic message while driving. The fine
is $70 and one point on your license and may increase to $110 and three points if use of the device
contributes to a crash. Fines for using a handheld cell phone are $83 for the first offense, $140 for the
second offense, and $160 for the third offense. Any driver who causes serious injury or death while using a
handheld cell phone or texting may receive a prison sentence of up to 3 years and a fine of up to $5,000.

According to the latest statistics from the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration, approximately 27,000
people are injured or killed annually in Maryland because of distracted driving crashes. The “Park the
Phone” campaign encourages drivers to:

e Park your phone before you drive.

e Manage your time. Driving is not the time to talk or text on a cell phone.

* Have a designated texter. Ask someone else to send or read text messages for you.

* Ride responsibly. If you are a passenger and a dtiver is using a handheld cell phone, ask him/her to
wait until arriving at a safe location.

e Buckle up! It’s the single most important step to save your life in the event of a crash!

For additional information and safety tips, please visit and facebook.com/howardcountypolicedepartment,
twitter.com/HCPDNews, and towardzerodeathsmd.com/distracted-driving.
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