
 
 

Family Size Amount

One Person $64,723

Two Person $73,969

Three Persons $83,215

Four Persons $92,461

Five Persons $99,858

Six Persons $107,255

Seven Persons $114,651

Eight Persons $122,048

Howard County COVID-19  
Rental Assistance and Eviction Prevention Round 2 

Beginning October 5, 2020, Howard County 
residents may contact one of the participating 
providers to complete an application for assistance 
to pay past due rent and/or mortgage payments 
and/or to prevent eviction.  Maximum assistance 
per household is 3 months of housing expense. 

Maximum Household Income Limits  
based on 80% of Howard County Area  
Median Income

Residents may contact one of the participating providers for an application beginning October 5th:
Provider Website Email Contact for Residents Phone Contact for Residents
Community Action Council cac-hc.org clientassistance@cac-hc.org 410-313-6440
Grassroots grassrootscrisis.org evictionprevention@grassrootscrisis.org 410-531-6677
FIRN firnonline.org housinghelp@firnonline.org 443-276-3166 

Partnership with Making Change
The County is partnering with Making Change, Inc. to provide free financial counseling to residents affected by a loss of  
income due to COVID-19. The counseling will include budget preparation and contacting creditors for assistance.  
Counseling is not required to receive rental assistance funds. The request form is available at makingchangecenter.org or  
by emailing info@makingchangecenter.org.

Legal Support for those Facing Eviction
On September 8, 2020, County Executive Calvin Ball announced $60,581 in CARES Act funding for Maryland Legal Aid 
(MLA) to assist residents facing eviction and other legal challenges exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic. The grant will 
help provide the education, assistance and representation needed to prevent evictions in forthcoming failure to pay rent 
proceedings.  Residents can contact Maryland Legal Aid intake line at (301) 560-2100 or https://www.mdlab.org.  Residents 
with concerns about unfair landlord practices or rent increases may contact the County’s Office of Consumer Protection for 
assistance at (410) 313-6420 or email consumer@howardcountymd.gov.

FA C T S H E E T

For more information, visit  
howardcountymd.gov/Departments/COVID-19-Coronavirus-Countywide-Updates

	 Preliminary  
	 application criteria:

1.	 Applicant must be a Howard County 
resident and provide proof of home 
address.

2.	 Applicant must provide evidence of 
loss of income due to COVID-related 
job loss, reduction in hours and/or 
medical illness. 

	 Special Exceptions: 
 

If you rent a unit in a property owned by the Howard County Housing 
Commission, you may be eligible for rental assistance from the Howard 
County Housing Commission. Residents should contact the property 
managers in their buildings to apply.
If you rent a unit owned or managed by Bridges to Housing Stability, you 
may be eligible for rental assistance from Bridges to Housing Stability. 
Residents may contact Bridges to Housing Stability directly  
at bridges2hs.org or (410) 312-5760.


