Howard County Government is organized into twelve departments. Each department is further divided into offices, bureaus and/or divisions. In addition to County departments, in this section you will find agencies that receive county funding, but operate with varying degrees of independence. Local branches of State departments which serve Howard County under state law (partially- or wholly-funded by county appropriations) are listed as well.

Housing and Community Development
Inspections, Licenses and Permits
Office of Law
Planning and Zoning
Public Works
Recreation and Parks
Technology and Communication Services