Sewer Crew working at Savage Mill 1918-1919      Hurricane Agnes 1972

History of the Howard County Bureau of Utilities

Prior to the formation of the Howard County Metropolitan Commission in 1943, the rural character of the county caused few water supply and sewer disposal problems.  Properties, through wells, springs and with septic systems, took care of their issues on an individual basis.  Except in some of the older towns where population density and the need for more water was becoming a problem, there was relatively little need of such public facilities.  

The Elkridge area experience an acute water shortage in  1931 and the problem was solved by setting up a special tax district through the state for the purpose of furnishing water to that area.  The Board of County Commissioners entered into an agreement with the City of Baltimore under which water mains were installed and the mains were operated, maintained and supplied by the Bureau of Water Supply of the City of Baltimore. In 1953 an agreement was negotiated with the Washing ton Suburban Sanitary Commission to supply additional water. 

In 1965 an act of the Maryland state legislature incorporated the existing five sub districts into one Howard County Metropolitan District and provided the means by whereby the Commission, with its 26 members began its own maintenance and operations group.  With its 16 members the Bureau of Water and Sewer group made all house connections, maintained and operated the pumping stations and treatment plants and began operations from the Church Road facility.