Human Rights Commission Announces Winners of 2017 Human Rights Award

March 30, 2017

Media Contacts:
Mark Miller, Administrator, Office of Public Information, 410-313-2022
Dr. Barbara Sands, Administrator, Office of Human Rights, 410-313-6430

ELLICOTT CITY, MD – The Howard County Human Rights Commission has announced that Young-chan Han and Denene Yates are the recipients of the 2017 Human Rights Award. The award is presented annually to individuals and/or organizations selected by the Commission from nominations submitted by the community. An award ceremony will be held on Thursday, April 20 at 6:30 p.m. at the Historic Oakland Ballroom, 5430 Vantage Point Road in Columbia. The award ceremony is free and open to the public; however, seating is limited. To reserve your seat, call the Human Rights Commission Award reservation line at 410-313-5906. 

The Human Rights Commission Award honors individuals and community organizations for contributions to human and civil rights in Howard County. The purpose of the award is to recognize exemplary citizenship, dedicated leadership and outstanding achievement in eliminating or eradicating discrimination, while advancing human rights for all residents of Howard County.

Past recipients of the Human Rights Commission’s Award include: Howard Community College’s Mediation and Conflict Resolution Center (2016); PFLAG Columbia-Howard County, Md (2015); Dr. Mark Stout and the River Hill Cultural Awareness Club (2014); the Honorable James Robey and The Council of Elders of the Black Community of Howard County, MD (2013); Elisa Montalvo and the Howard County NAACP Youth Council (2012); Carol Beatty and the Community Action Council of Howard County, MD, Inc. (2011); Rufus Clanzy (2010); Dr. Edward Cochran (2009); Dr. Sydney Cousin and Leola Dorsey (2008); and Colette Roberts and Rev. Dr. Robert Turner (2007). 

For more information about the award and/or the ceremony, please contact the Office of Human Rights at 410-313-6430.