Spending Affordability Advisory Committee (SAAC)

FY 2022 Spending Affordability Advisory Committee


The Spending Affordability Advisory Committee (SAAC), created by Executive Order 2019-14 and amended by Executive Order 2020-17, is directed to prepare and present a report to the County Executive, on or before March 1, 2021, including:

  • Projected General Fund revenues for the upcoming fiscal year;
  • Recommended new county debt (General Obligation bonds) authorization;
  • An analysis of the long-term fiscal outlook including multi-year projections; and
  • Other findings and/or recommendations that the committee deems appropriate.

The committee consists of citizens and representatives of major organizations along with county staff to serve as advisors to the Committee. Each member of the County Council was invited to nominate one member. The Committee will be chaired by the County’s Budget Administrator, Dr. Holly Sun and Co-Chaired by Mr. Steve Poynot, a county resident and long-time committee member.

To read last year's report click here

For last year's Spending Affordability Advisory Committee click here.

Committee Members

  • Steve Poynot (Committee Vice Chair)
  • Tonya Aikens, Howard County Library System
  • Todd Arterburn
  • Richard Clinch, Ph.D.
  • Lynn Coleman, Howard Community College
  • Piet de Drew, Howard County Association of Realtors
  • Joan Driessen, Association of Community Services Howard County
  • Howie Feaga, Farm Bureau
  • Dan Gick
  • Ellen Flynn Giles
  • John C. Hendrickson
  • Daraius Irani, Ph.D.
  • Barbara K. Lawson
  • Milton Matthews, Columbia Association
  • Leonardo McClarty, Howard County Chamber of Commerce
  • Jahantab Siddiqui, Howard County Public School System
  • Joshua Tzuker
  • Dr. Chao Wu, Howard County Board of Education

Committee Chair

  • Holly Sun, Ph.D., County Budget Administrator

Committee Advisors (County Staff)

  • Craig Glendenning, Howard County Auditor
  • Rafiu Ighile, Director, Department of Finance
  • Jennifer Jones, Deputy Chief of Staff
  • Patrick Pope, Internal Auditor
  • Lonnie R. Robbins, Chief Administrative Officer
  • Larry Twele, Howard County Economic Development Authority

Meetings are virtual and scheduled as follows:

  • 11/19, 7:00am - 9:00am 
  • 12/3, 7:00am - 9:00am
  • 12/10, 7:00am - 9:00am
  • 12/17, 7:00am - 9:00am
  • 1/7, 7:00am - 9:00am
  • 1/14, 7:00am -9:00am
  • 1/21, 7:00am -9:00am
  • 1/28, 7:00am – 9:00am
  • 2/4, 7:00am - 9:00am
  • 2/11, 7:00am - 9:00am
  • 2/25, 7:00am - 9:00am


Meeting Videos


January 7, 2021


December 17, 2020


December 10, 2020


December 3, 2020


November 19, 2020