FY 2021 Spending Affordability Advisory Committee

To read the report issued by the FY 2021 Spending Affordability Advisory Committee, click HERE.

The Spending Affordability Advisory Committee (SAAC), created by Executive Order 2019-14 and amended by Executive Order 2020-01, is directed to prepare and present a report to the County Executive, on or before March 1, 2020, including:

  • Projected General Fund revenues for the upcoming fiscal year;
  • Recommended new county debt (General Obligation bonds) authorization;
  • An analysis of the long-term fiscal outlook including multi-year projections; and
  • Other findings and/or recommendations that the committee deems appropriate.

The committee consists of 22 residents and representatives of major organizations along with county staff to serve as advisors to the Committee. Each member of the County Council was invited to nominate one member. The Committee will be chaired by the County’s Budget Administrator, Dr. Holly Sun and Co-Chaired by Mr. Steve Poynot, a county resident and long-time committee member.

Read the FY 2020 Spending Affordability Report here

View FY 2020 Spending Affordability Committee here.

Committee Members

  • Steve Poynot (Committee Vice Chair)
  • Tonya Aikens, Howard County Library System
  • Todd Arterburn
  • Roger Barnes
  • Richard Clinch, Ph.D.
  • Jessica Coates, Howard County Association of Realtors
  • Lynn Coleman, Howard Community College
  • Christina Delmont Small, Howard County Board of Education
  • Joan Driessen, Association of Community Services Howard County
  • Dan Gick
  • Ellen Flynn Giles
  • Hiruy Hadgu
  • Khaleda Hasan, Ph.D.
  • John C. Hendrickson
  • Daraius Irani, Ph.D.
  • Elizabeth Edsall Kromm, Ph.D., Howard County General Hospital
  • Barbara K. Lawson
  • Milton Matthews, Columbia Association
  • Leonardo McClarty, Howard County Chamber of Commerce
  • Keith Ohlinger, Farm Bureau
  • Jahantab Siddiqui, Howard County Public School System
  • Joshua Tzuker

Committee Chair

  • Holly Sun, Ph.D., County Budget Administrator

Committee Advisors (County Staff)

  • Craig Glendenning, Howard County Auditor
  • Janet Irvin, Director, Department of Finance
  • Jennifer Jones, Deputy Chief of Staff
  • Patrick Pope, Internal Auditor
  • Lonnie R. Robbins, Chief Administrative Officer
  • Larry Twele, Howard County Economic Development Authority

Meetings are scheduled as follows:

  • 1/7, 7:30am - 9:0am 
  • 1/16, 7:00am - 9:0am
  • 1/21, 7:00am - 9:00am
  • 1/30, 7:00am - 9:00am
  • 2/7, 7:00am