County Government Officials

Appointed Positions

The County Executive appoints directors of county departments and certain offices:

Aging and Independence:  Jenna Crawley (410-313-6410)
Animal Control: Deborah Baracco (410-313-2780)
Budget: Holly Sun (410-313-2077)
Cable Administrator: Donna Richardson (410-313-3318)
Chief of Staff: Sameer Sidh (410-313-0809)
Children and Families: Erin Bonzon  (410-313-1940)
Community Partnerships: Rose Burton (410-313-6400)
Community Resources and Services: Jackie Scott (410-313-6400)
Community Sustainability: Josh Feldmark l (410-313-0700)
Consumer Protection: Vacant (410-313-6420)
Corrections: Jack Kavanagh (410-313-5200)
County Administration: Lonnie Robbins (410-313-2020)
Economic Development: Lawrence Twele (410-313-6500)
Finance: Rafiu Ighile  (410-313-2195)
Fire and Rescue Services: William Anuszewski  (410-313-6000)
Housing & Community Development: Kelly A. Cimino (410-313-6320
Human Resources: Wanda Hutchinson (410-313-2033)
Human Rights: Yolanda F. Sonnier (410-313-6430)
Inspections, Licenses and Permits: Bob Frances (410-313-2433)
Law: Gary W. Kuc (410-313-2100)
Legislative Coordinator: Jennifer Sager (410-313-2164)
Planning and Zoning: Amy Gowan (410-313-2350)
Police: Lisa Myers (410-313-3200)
Public Information: Scott Peterson (410-313-2022)
Public Works: Tom Meunier  (410-313-4401)
Recreation and Parks: Raul Delerme (410-313-4700)

Technology & Communication Services: Brandee Ganz (410-313-3500)
Veterans and Military Affairs: Lisa Terry (410-313-6400)
Workforce Development: Francine Trout (410-290-2620)


Other appointed officials

Health Officer
Dr. Maura Rossman (410-313-6300)
Appointed by Maryland Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene

Howard Community College President
Dr. Kate Hetherington (443-518-1820)
Contracted by Howard Community College Board of Trustees

Library System President and CEO
Tonya Aikens (410-313-7750)
Appointed by Howard County Library System Board of Trustees

Public School Superintendent
Dr. Michael J. Martirano (410-313-6677)
Contracted by Howard County Board of Education

Elected Local Officials


Board of Education. Voters elect seven members at large for four-year, staggered terms.
Mavis Ellis, Chairman
Kirsten Coombs, Vice Chairman
Vicky Cutroneo
Christina Delmont-Small
Jennifer Mallo
Sabina Taj
Chao Wu
Zach Koung, Student Board Member

County Council


Voters elect five members by district for four-year terms. Council members may serve no more than three terms. Councilmanic districts are realigned every ten years, after each census (2000, 2010, 2020). 

Telephone 410-313-2001; mail to 3430 Courthouse Dr., Ellicott City, 21043, or e-mail: [email protected]

District 1: Liz Walsh
District 2: Opel Jones,  Vice Chairperson
District 3: Christiana Mercer Rigby, Chairperson
District 4: Deb Jung
District 5: David Yungmann

County Executive


Voters elect a County Executive for a four-year term. The executive is limited to two terms. Telephone 410-313-2013; mail to 3430 Courthouse Dr., Ellicott City, 21043

Judges: Circuit Court, 5th Judicial District


Voters elect five judges to 15-year terms.


Richard Bernhardt, Associate Judge (410-313-2145)
Mary M. Kramer, Associate Judge (410-313-2083)
Timothy J. McCrone, Associate Judge (410-313-2149)
William V. Tucker, Associate Judge (410-313-2066)

John J. Kuchno, Associate Judge (410-313-2143)



District Court Judges


The Governor appoints District Court judges.
Wayne A. Brooks
Lisa L. Broten
Pamila J. Brown, Administrative Judge 
Erin M. Danz
Brian D. Green 
Mary C. Reese
Ricardo D. Zwaig

Other Court Officials


Voters elect the following for four-year terms:
Clerk of the Court: Wayne A. Robey, Clerk (410-313-3825)
Judges of Orphans Court: Anne Dodd, Elizabeth Ann Fitch, Leslie Turner (410-313-2133)
Register of Wills: Byron MacFarlane (410-313-2133)

Magistrates, Circuit Court


Elizabeth J. Case (410-313-3635)
Stephanie P. Porter (410-313-2638)
Lara C. Weathersbee (410-313-3635)



Voters elect a sheriff for a four-year term with no term limit.
Marcus Harris (410-313-2150)

State's Attorney


Voters elect a State's Attorney for a four-year term. There are no term limitations.

 Rich Gibson (410-313-2108)