Home | Careers | Font size A A A
Click here to signup for notifications from Howard County Maryland Government

Welcome to the Howard County Board of Elections


Monday February 15, 2016
State Offices Closed



If you've received your assignment letter, please click on the button below to register for training.




If you'd like to schedule a visit or demonstration of the new voting system for your group or organization, please click the following link:  
Voter Outreach Request Form 
New Voting System - What You Need To Know 
New Voting System Demonstration Registration Form 
PRESS RELEASE: Early Voting - Change in Voting Process (PDF)

Howard County Voter Outreach Schedule

Click here to display the calendar in your browser.
11 TV Hill - New Voting System Undergoes Testing 
11 TV Hill - Will Changing Voting Systems Improve Turnout? 
11 TV Hill - See How To Use The New Voting Machines 



Howard County Board of Elections
In person/By mail: 9770 Patuxent Woods Dr, Suite 200
Columbia, MD 21046
By phone: (410) 313-5820
By fax: (410) 313-5833 or (410) 313-5899
TDD: (410) 313-2323
Office hours: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM Monday - Friday



State Board of Elections
By phone: (410) 269-2840
Toll free: (800) 222-8683 (VOTE)
By fax: (410) 974-2019
By mail: PO Box 6486, Annapolis, MD 21401-6486
In person: 151 West St, Suite 200, Annapolis, MD 21401
Internet: Maryland State Board of Elections




Click here to go to the Online Voter Registration system.
Register Then Vote 



Important Dates
Candidate Filing Deadline - February 3, 2016
Registration and Party Change Deadline - April 5, 2016
Absentee Ballot Request Deadline - April 19, 2016
Upcoming Elections
2016 Presidential Primary Election Dates and Times:
Early Voting
Begins Thursday April 14, 2016
Ends Thursday April 21, 2016
Polls Open 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM each day
Election Day
Tuesday April 26, 2016
Polls Open 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Past Elections
For official election results for Maryland by state, county, and congressional and legislative districts, go to the State Board of Elections website and click the Elections link in the banner.
For 2014 Gubernatorial Early Voting turnout statistics and other reports, click here.



Mission Statement
To provide the citizens of Howard County with impartial, timely, and accurate and accessible election administration services with a commitment to the highest standards of excellence.
Board Members
Donna K. Thewes - President
Ann M. Balcerzak, Esq. - Vice President
Patrick R. Mullinix - Member
Diane L. Butler - Substitute
Raymond M. Rankin - Substitute
Michael S. Molinaro, Esq. - Counsel
Election Office
Guy C. Mickley - Director
Charlotte B. Davis - Deputy Director
Board Meeting
Howard County Election Board Meeting
Monday January 25, 2016 at 4:00 PM
Howard County Board of Elections
9770 Patuxent Woods Dr Suite 200
Columbia, MD 21046

NOTICE: If Howard County Offices are closed due to inclement weather on the above date, the Board Meeting will be rescheduled for January 25, 2016 at 4:00 PM.

Board Meetings are held at this office on the fourth Monday of every month at 4:00 pm. (Date and time subject to change.) Please contact the Election Board to confirm the date and time of the meeting if you wish to attend.
This meeting is open to the public. Per Maryland's Open Meetings Act, portions of the meeting may be closed to the public.


Revised 02/05/2016

Click here to report problems with this page