Home | Careers | Font size A A A
7/28/2014 - 07.28.14 Agricultural Land Preservation Tops 2,200 Acres Under County Executive Ulman READ MORE
6/16/2014 - 06.16.14 Howard County Seeks Public Comment on Proposed Courthouse Expansion READ MORE
5/29/2014 - 05.29.14 Howard County Kicks Off Seventh Annual “Bike to Work Day” READ MORE
4/8/2014 - 04.08.14 Howard County Launches Bike Share Feasibility Study READ MORE
2/5/2014 - 02.05.14 Design Guideline Process for Clarksville Commercial Area to Get Underway, Executive Ulman Announces READ MORE
6/11/2013 - 06.11.13 Howard County Bicycle-Friendly Business Workshop READ MORE
4/26/2013 - 04.26.13 Howard County to Construct First Streetscape Projects on Route 40 READ MORE
3/21/2013 - 03.21.13 County Executive Ulman to Offer Remarks at Launch of the Opportunity Collaborative READ MORE
3/13/2013 - 03.13.13 Howard County Earns Fourth Award for Downtown Columbia Plan READ MORE

Planning & Zoning

Monday-Friday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

 

3430 Court House Drive, Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: 410-313-2350
Fax: 410-313-3467 
email us 


Director's Office
Zoning Administration & Public Service
 
Land Development
Development Engineering
Resource Conservation
Comprehensive and Community Planning 
Research
 


 

Director's Office  

Marsha McLaughlin, Director

msmclaughlin@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4301

Kimberley Flowers, Deputy Director Ombudsman and Public Affairs
kaflowers@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4340

Steve Lafferty, Director of Special Projects
slafferty@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4302

Laura Boone, Administrative Aide, Administrative Support for the Planning Board 
lboone@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4303

Lisa Hill, Administrative Analyst II, Grants Management, Project Management
lhill@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4305

Laurie Scott, Administrative Support, Reception
lascott@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-2350 


 

Zoning Administration and Public Service  

Cindy Hamilton, Division Chief 

chamilton@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4350

Curtis Braithwaite, Regulation Inspector, Zoning Enforcement
cbraithwaite@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4415

Tamara Frank, Regulation Inspector, Zoning Enforcement
tfrank@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3362


John Hartner, Planner, Zoning Board/Hearing Authority Cases 
jehartner@howardcountymd.gov

410-313-4383

Zan Koldewey, Planner, Zoning Board/ Hearing Authority Cases
zkoldewey@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4323


Bob Lalush, Planner, Zoning Board/Hearing Authority Cases, Zoning Interpretations, Zoning Verification Letters
blalush@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4344

Anthony LaRose, Inspection Supervisor, Zoning Enforcement
alarose@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4320

Annette Merson, Public Service, Zoning Review of Building Permits
amerson@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4313

Steve Rolls, Residential Permits, Water & Sewer Applications
srolls@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4392

Diana Rose, Commercial Permits, Advanced Deposit Orders
dmrose@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3372

Toni Sieglein, Administrative Support 
tsieglein@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-2424

   


 

Land Development  

Kent Sheubrooks, Division Chief

ksheubrooks@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4390

Brenda Barth, Plan Review
bbarth@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4391

David Boellner, Plan Review
dboellner@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3956

Julia Boone, Plan Review, Plan Acceptance
jboone@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4342
 

Eric Buschman, Plan Review, Plan Acceptance 
ebuschman@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-0729 
 

Pat Britt-Fendlay, Plan Review
pbritt@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3371
 

Nick Haines, Plan Review 
nhaines@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4333

Derrick Jones, Plan Review
djones@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4330

Brenda Luber, Plan Review, Forest Conserv. Database
bluber@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4343

Tanya Maenhardt, Planning Supervisor, Plan Review
tmaenhardt@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4332

Jill Manion-Farrar, Plan Review
jfarrar@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4338

Carol Stirn, Schedules Plan Submission Appointments, Road Name Approval, Pre-submission Signs, Administrative Support
cstirn@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4351

Jennifer Wellen, Plan Review, Plan Acceptance, Landscape Database
jwellen@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4394


 

Development Engineering

Chad Edmondson, Division Chief
cdammers@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3364

Maury Gogolski, Professional Engineer, Stormwater Management
mgogolski@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-2360

Jayesh Pancholi, Professional Engineer, Stormwater Management, General Engineering
jpancholi@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3370

Heather Pandullo, Stormwater Management, General Engineering
hpandullo@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4375

Jeff Pickett, Administractive Support, Intake of water/sewer submissions, Redline Revisions
jepickett@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3363

Phil Thompson, Professional Engineer, Senior Engineer, Stormwater Management, Fast Track Projects, General Engineering, Special Projects
pthompson@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3368

James Witmer, General Engineering
jwitmer@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3366

Nicole Yan, General Engineering
nyan@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3365


Resource Conservation

Beth Burgess, Division Chief 
bburgess@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4341

Joy Levy, Agriculture Preservation Administrator
jlevy@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4382

Bill Mahoney, Environmental Planner
wmahoney@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-3833

Susan Overstreet, Environmental Planner 
soverstreet@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4345

Mary Smith, Agricultural Preservation Administrative Support
msmith@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4352

Samantha Holmes, Historic Preservation Planner, Historic District Commission
sholmes@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4428

Ken Short, Historic Sites Surveyor
kshort@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4335


 

Comprehensive and Community Planning  

William Mackey, Division Chief 

wmackey@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4321

Dace Blaumanis, Route 1 Corridor Revitalization
dblaumanis@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4324
 

Kate Bolinger, Community Planner 
kbolinger@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4393 
 

Randy Clay, Community Planner, GIS Specialist
rclay@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4381

Brad Killian, Community Planner 
bkillian@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4364



 

 

Research

Jeffrey Bronow, Division Chief

jbronow@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4370

Terry Bromery, Technical Service Support, Large Format Imaging
tbromery@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-2073

David Dell, Research Planner
ddell@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4322

Carrie Grosch, Research Planner, GIS
cgrosch@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4420

Doug Kampe, Research Planner
dkampe@howardcountymd.gov 
410-313-4326

Lisa Kenney, Research Planner
lkenney@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4373

Sharon Melis, Research Planner, Database Coordinator
smelis@howardcountymd.gov
410-313-4325